One pocket pool
One home About Learning the game Hall of fame marketplace a one pocket pool forum

Chris Bartram Wins the 2007 Louie Roberts Award

The Derby City Classic Action/Entertainment Award

2007 Gallery of Action at Derby City, Page 1 - More action, Page 2 - More action, Page 3 - More action, Page 4


January 23, 2007

In a year where the event was packed with the most highly touted stone cold action monsters from around the globe, picking a winner for the 2007 Derby City Classic “St Louis” Louis Roberts Action and Entertainment Award proved to be a thrilling ride.

The sweators and bettors spoke, and their votes were cast. We are excited to announce that the 2007 “St. Louis” Louis Roberts Award goes to Chris Bartram. Bartram was in high profile action every day of the nine day pool & billiard jamboree.

Players often say that matching up and putting ones heart on the line lends to great improvement in play, forcing players to play their best game. No savers, no dumps. Just ask anyone who the great action players are, and most will point to the Filipinos, a group notorious for being in constant action as a part of their life and livelihood. Chris Bartram took noteworthy steps in that direction, showing the world that the Americans still have gamble in them. Among his many matchups, Bartram twice took on Filipino sensation Dennis Orcollo in 10-ball, he battled UK 8-ball Champion Darren Appleton in an 11-ahead set of 9-ball, and he had several other multi-hour sets throughout the duration of the event. Chris had backing from several of his fellow players, and he backed other players as well.




Chris Bartram in action

2007 Louie Roberts Action/Entertainment Award Winner


Photo courtesy Diana Hoppe


Though somewhat quiet and reserved around the pool table, Bartram never failed to attract a large crowd whenever he was in action. And the award is all about entertaining the crowd, however the winner accomplishes that task. Congratulations Chris on this well-deserved honor. Over forty votes were received from the internet forum community, with Bartram receiving the most first place votes and most votes overall. Shane Van Boening, Jon (Pinegar) Hennessee, and Harold McAbee rounded out the top four.



Above story contributed by Fred Agnir

The Louie Roberts A/E Award is the only industry award that directly honors the contribution that the world of pool action makes toward the ongoing popularity of the sport. Recipients of the A/E award win free room and free entry fees to the Derby City Classic. Congratulations to Chris Bartram, this year’s winner!

Since rolling balls were first introduced to a table in billiard’s distant past, cue sports have always enjoyed a lively tradition of after-hours action. Diamond Billiard Products and the Derby City Classic proudly celebrate that tradition with their annual Louis Roberts Action/Entertainment Award.

The A/E Award is named after the late Louie Roberts, who embodied the kind of high-rolling free-spirited and talented player that crowds have always loved to gather and watch. Louie was a rare talent and genuine star in the action/entertainment side of pool. Whether he was flat broke or flush with cash didn’t seem to make a difference; Louie would find a game, and the crowd would find Louie. Whatever cash he held, he might wager on one match, on one game, or even on one shot; Louie had the confidence to bet it all.


The late Louie Roberts

Photo courtesy Mike Haines & Bill Porter

Previous Winners of the Louie Roberts Action/Entertainment Award

* 2003 Alex Pagulayan *

* 2004 Tony Watson *

* 2005 Scott Frost *

* 2006 Cliff Joyner *

The principle sponsor of the Derby City Classic is Diamond Billiard Products

2007 Gallery of Action at Derby City, Page 1 - More action, Page 2 - More action, Page 3 - More action, Page 4

All content ©2007 Steve Booth All rights reserved.


Dedicated to the game of One Pocket

Register your support for the game of One Pocket by signing up to join   It's free, it's easy, and your privacy is assured.  All you need is a valid email address.

The image


© 2004
Web Design by J Maze Design