Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

bad sportsmanship but is it legal

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • bad sportsmanship but is it legal

    I was in the pool hall last week and 2 guys were playing for $20 a game, one guy was drinking and the other was not. The guy that was NOT drinking scratched and the guy that was drinking (all day) said "I need a bathroom break, I will be right back". Well his opponent (sober) picks up the cue and sits it in the jaws of the pocket on the head rail. When the guy gets back from the bathroom, I guess he forgot about the scratch and shot the cue from the jaws where his opponent had sit it. I know it was a terrible thing to do, but is there anything illegal about it.

  • #2
    Originally posted by poolandpokerman View Post
    I was in the pool hall last week and 2 guys were playing for $20 a game, one guy was drinking and the other was not. The guy that was NOT drinking scratched and the guy that was drinking (all day) said "I need a bathroom break, I will be right back". Well his opponent (sober) picks up the cue and sits it in the jaws of the pocket on the head rail. When the guy gets back from the bathroom, I guess he forgot about the scratch and shot the cue from the jaws where his opponent had sit it. I know it was a terrible thing to do, but is there anything illegal about it.
    That would definitely fall under the category of "unsportsmanlike conduct". So, yes it would be against the rules.
    "One Pocket, it's an epidemic and there ain't no cure."
    -- Strawberry Brooks

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by NH Steve View Post
      That would definitely fall under the category of "unsportsmanlike conduct". So, yes it would be against the rules.
      i am not sure its definitely a foul.
      if your opponent was going to shoot at your hole and you let him make a ball for you and then tell him
      thats not a foul on you
      so why is it a foul to not remind him he has ball in hand??
      is it unsportsman like yes
      but
      a foul
      to me
      no
      i am open to others opinion

      Comment


      • #4
        Looks like this was an intentional mistake, would this fall under the category of "poor gamesmanship" ? Would that be the same as "unsportsmanlike conduct" ?

        Dr. Bill

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by wincardona View Post
          Looks like this was an intentional mistake, would this fall under the category of "poor gamesmanship" ? Would that be the same as "unsportsmanlike conduct" ?

          Dr. Bill
          I would call it.....The... "pay more attention dummy........rule" brooomback.
          Click here to order the DVD
          Click here to order JB shirts

          Comment


          • #6
            It seems to me that a rule without an enforcement mechanism is only a suggestion.

            IMO, with no referee and no money posted with an objective 3rd party, this is a moral question, not a legal one.

            Comment


            • #7
              Tournament rules are; the non-shooting player remain in their chair and not talk to the shooter while down on the shot.

              Gambling rules are between the two players.

              As a bystander, would you tell the player that had returned that it was Ball in Hand behind the line?

              IMO it is similar to a player shooting the 4 ball while the 3 is still low ball on the table in a rotation game. Non-shooting player has no obligation to inform his opponent which ball to shoot or how.

              Being quiet about your opponents decisions is not against the rules.

              Respect is the only loss in these situations. IMO not a foul, but I now have lost respect for the non-shooting player.
              Been practicing more and more... still need a consistant stroke and glasses

              Comment


              • #8
                I rarely drink until after I play. If I came back and found the CB there, I'd ask "you scratch" whether I knew or not.
                Rod.

                Rodney Stephens.
                (e-mail) rod.stephens0105@att.net(e-mail) #713-973-0503 is now working

                Comment


                • #9
                  sportsmanship

                  I was thinking the same way you guys were thinking, not a foul, but a good guy to stay away from when you are looking for a game. He gets into a lot of arguments when he plays, always has issues. I am sure this was a move and intentional, however, I don't like others on the sidelines getting into my games so I did not say nothing. Same as shooting at the wrong hole or the wrong ball in 9 ball. The only thing different is, the opponent did it intentional and then did not say nothing, not illegal but not honest in my opinion. Thanks for the replies.

                  Tom

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Maybe he was on his case twenty and this was his last resort, in which case it makes it ok lol. As a bystander, stay out of it. Could be trouble.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Poor sportsmanship. It happens. I work pretty hard to avoid it, personally.

                      Watched a guy pull something similar, but even worse once. The drunk guy had to go pee, and when he came back he couldn't remember whether he was stripes or solids (8 ball tournament). His opponent wouldn't say, so he just shrugged and shot a ball in. Opponent jumps up screaming FOUL!!! YOU SHOT THE WRONG BALL!!!

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        May I steal this thread for an instant? I will anyway so here goes. My apologies but I do see similarities here.

                        I was playing this guy in one of my matches at the US Open One Pocket Championships in Portland Maine. It may have been in 2000 or 2002 can't remember the year that well. So every few minutes he's going off somewhere without saying anything to me. Many times he left the table when it was my shot which is not suppose to be allowed. Finally I've had enough and when the fourth game had concluded with him winning it. It was then my break and off he went without a word.

                        I decided to call the ref. over and explained the situation to him and he asked me if I wished to start the game with out him I could and he would watch to verify my inning. Not wanting to be delayed any further I broke the balls and happened to pocket one. The ref waved me on and I continued to run out the game without my opponent's presence. Game, Set, Match!

                        We both hung around until my opponent finally showed up. The ref. said it all. "You lost". Well, he was in disbelief but the ref. explained what occurred and how he had no right to leave the table on my inning without first asking permission even though it was between games and that he, the ref had witnessed my entire inning and I had legally won the game. Talk about satisfying!

                        I doubt I would had gone to such lengths had this guy been more respectful but sometimes you just have to put an end to the gamesmanship of some people.

                        Tom

                        "Controlled Aggression" trwirth369@gmail.com

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by Tom Wirth View Post
                          May I steal this thread for an instant? I will anyway so here goes. My apologies but I do see similarities here.
                          Wow, that's awesome. The guy disappears and you break and run 8 and out on him!!! I bet he was super shocked.
                          I would not have felt a shred of remorse, he had it coming.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            bad sportsmanship but is it legal

                            I think I misread this post this morning and had not had any coffee yet either. Because as I read it now I think it's bad sportsmanship but not illegal.
                            "One Pocket, it's an epidemic and there ain't no cure."
                            -- Strawberry Brooks

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              The key point is, did the guy who went to the restroom know that the shooter had just scratched. If he did, then it's his responsibility to remember when he got back. If he didn't witness the scratch then the opponent should have told him. Yet, if he didn't witness the scratch, he should have.

                              ~Doc

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X