Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can you decline a foul your opponent calls on himself?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Can you decline a foul your opponent calls on himself?

    If your opponent calls a non obvious foul on himself for something like a double hit or moving two object balls, can you decline it if the spotted ball blocks your shot?

    I've asked a few people and no one has any idea who gets final say when you have this reverse dispute about a foul.

  • #2
    Originally posted by cityhall View Post
    If your opponent calls a non obvious foul on himself for something like a double hit or moving two object balls, can you decline it if the spotted ball blocks your shot?

    I've asked a few people and no one has any idea who gets final say when you have this reverse dispute about a foul.
    Great question!! With no ref or neutral observer, I would lean toward yes, as the opponent, you should be able to decline a foul you did not see. Of course you could accept it if you wanted too. If there is a ref or neutral, then no, it's a foul.

    On the flip side, there are plenty of times a shooter might foul but say nothing, and with it not being particularly obvious or the opponent not paying close attention, the shooter gets away with it.
    "One Pocket, it's an epidemic and there ain't no cure."
    -- Strawberry Brooks

    Comment


    • #3
      I think we should have instant replay on uncalled fouls, but not until after the Super Bowl.
      If it ain't funny, it ain't much.

      Comment


      • #4
        CityHall,
        So obviously you think he did not foul, right?
        Or do you think it is your right as the opponent to determine if the shooter fouled?
        Or do you think he is cheating and did not foul, but really called a foul upon himself to block your next shot? I can see this happening, for there are rules written just because players bend the rules, and more that could be written that are not.

        And in your case a rule could be written that states: A player can not call a foul upon themselves, but must respond when questioned as to whether they fouled.

        But there is no rule governing this in WPA and I do not think CSI covers this specifically. A whole lot of players, out of what they think is good sportsmanship, call a foul upon themselves. There is no rule you have to call a foul upon yourself, nor should it ever be regarding as poor sportsmanship to not call a foul upon yourself.

        Just tonight in BCAPL league 8-ball a player called a foul upon himself, stating he contacted the opponents ball first, the opponent said no it was a good hit. And it was!

        It is the responsibility of the opponent to pay attention to the game, and to call fouls. So how did it turn out? Whitey

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Dennis "Whitey" Young View Post
          CityHall,
          So obviously you think he did not foul, right?
          Or do you think it is your right as the opponent to determine if the shooter fouled?
          Or do you think he is cheating and did not foul, but really called a foul upon himself to block your next shot? I can see this happening, for there are rules written just because players bend the rules, and more that could be written that are not.

          And in your case a rule could be written that states: A player can not call a foul upon themselves, but must respond when questioned as to whether they fouled.

          But there is no rule governing this in WPA and I do not think CSI covers this specifically. A whole lot of players, out of what they think is good sportsmanship, call a foul upon themselves. There is no rule you have to call a foul upon yourself, nor should it ever be regarding as poor sportsmanship to not call a foul upon yourself.

          Just tonight in BCAPL league 8-ball a player called a foul upon himself, stating he contacted the opponents ball first, the opponent said no it was a good hit. And it was!

          It is the responsibility of the opponent to pay attention to the game, and to call fouls. So how did it turn out? Whitey
          I totally agree with that. I also don't think anyone should portray players as heros for calling fouls on themselves. It is just something they did. This is used as sort of posturing in the pool world on many occasions, and i just don't agree with it. A player is not some sort of saint, stand up guy if he calls fouls on himself. I am not knocking his behavior either, just saying it doesn't matter to me in the slightest when considering his character.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by cityhall View Post
            If your opponent calls a non obvious foul on himself for something like a double hit or moving two object balls, can you decline it if the spotted ball blocks your shot?

            I've asked a few people and no one has any idea who gets final say when you have this reverse dispute about a foul.


            No.. If you can decline a foul in that situation, then you would have to be able to decline it in another situation, such as when they follow your last ball in.. How can you ever pick and choose on that??!!
            "Born Into This"

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by cityhall View Post
              If your opponent calls a non obvious foul on himself for something like a double hit or moving two object balls, can you decline it if the spotted ball blocks your shot?

              I've asked a few people and no one has any idea who gets final say when you have this reverse dispute about a foul.
              this is an interesting question because what if your opponent says he fouled when he did not and as you describe above the spotted ball blocks your shot??
              the calling a foul on yourself could be a move like conveniently remembering when to say your opponent or you needs to spot a forgotten owed ball.
              I think the answer is to treat the called on yourself foul the same way
              spot the ball right away or wait 2 innings
              just a thought
              icbw

              Comment


              • #8
                I think in most situations a person calling a foul on himself is a good sport BUT beware of people bearing gifts. I am not aware of any rule that says you have to accept the self called foul but I just don't know for sure. It seems as though the incoming shooter might have some say in the self called foul and whether or not they have to accept it. Help here Steve Booth, what say thee?

                Comment


                • #9
                  Maybe we could make it a foul to call a foul on yourself

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by jerry matchin View Post
                    I think in most situations a person calling a foul on himself is a good sport BUT beware of people bearing gifts. I am not aware of any rule that says you have to accept the self called foul but I just don't know for sure. It seems as though the incoming shooter might have some say in the self called foul and whether or not they have to accept it. Help here Steve Booth, what say thee?
                    Originally posted by NH Steve View Post
                    Great question!! With no ref or neutral observer, I would lean toward yes, as the opponent, you should be able to decline a foul you did not see. Of course you could accept it if you wanted too. If there is a ref or neutral, then no, it's a foul.

                    On the flip side, there are plenty of times a shooter might foul but say nothing, and with it not being particularly obvious or the opponent not paying close attention, the shooter gets away with it.
                    I commented earlier -- it is definitely a good question!

                    PS, it would not be a question playing with any variation of darmoose going forward rule idea -- who is going to turn down a ball lol?
                    "One Pocket, it's an epidemic and there ain't no cure."
                    -- Strawberry Brooks

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by NH Steve View Post
                      I commented earlier -- it is definitely a good question!

                      PS, it would not be a question playing with any variation of darmoose going forward rule idea -- who is going to turn down a ball lol?
                      Good catch, Steve. Also, the penalty ball does not go on spot, but in opponent's rack, thereby eliminating the reason to pull this little move.

                      Also, note that the PIBOOF rule, giving the incoming player the option, when there is a foul, to either accept the shot or not, again eliminating the incentive to pull this, as well as other "moves".

                      Great new rules ideas, huh?

                      The early bird may get the worm...but the second mouse gets the cheese...Shutin@urholeisOVERATED.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        NO you can not "CALL" a foul on yourself. We of course would ALL PLAY a gentleman's game. When we bring to our opponents attention something they might have missed OR they have yet to say, we should be commended BUT there are of course a few situations where FOULING would be to our advantage. With no ref. the foul CALL rests with your opponent.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          dotting the cue

                          I'm not addressing the advantage/disadvantage of calling a foul - but there are times you KNOW you dotted the cue ball (even if it doesn't move), and not calling it on yourself would speak directly to your own integrity. Any legitimate foul should always be called in my opinion.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by Red Shoes View Post
                            NO you can not "CALL" a foul on yourself. We of course would ALL PLAY a gentleman's game. When we bring to our opponents attention something they might have missed OR they have yet to say, we should be commended BUT there are of course a few situations where FOULING would be to our advantage. With no ref. the foul CALL rests with your opponent.

                            So you are saying if I touch the tip of my cue tip to the cue ball and take an obvious foul, my opponent can declare that he does NOT want a ball to be spotted, if it creates some advantage.. Right???
                            "Born Into This"

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by Red Shoes View Post
                              NO you can not "CALL" a foul on yourself. We of course would ALL PLAY a gentleman's game. When we bring to our opponents attention something they might have missed OR they have yet to say, we should be commended BUT there are of course a few situations where FOULING would be to our advantage. With no ref. the foul CALL rests with your opponent.

                              Thanks for clarifying, that's great to know.

                              Now, I know I don't have to accept that intentional foul my opponent just tried to take to offset the trap I put him in. So, what do I do, make him shoot again? I like it.

                              Last edited by darmoose; 01-23-2019, 10:55 AM. Reason: error
                              The early bird may get the worm...but the second mouse gets the cheese...Shutin@urholeisOVERATED.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X