Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

ball on break rerack question

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #16
    Originally posted by lll View Post
    thanks for the reply
    I appreciate the discussion.

    Comment


    • #17
      Someone wrote a rule, it is not the holy grail, that is for sure! We tend to view rules like they are god almighty because they are down in print, and they have the backing of their governing body, like the WPA or BCAPL. But in reality it is just someone with control and putting a rule down in words.

      Rule: A scored ball on the break is a re-rack.

      Rule: A scored ball legally pocketed on the break, is a re-rack.

      See the difference! Whitey

      Comment


      • #18
        Originally posted by Dennis "Whitey" Young View Post
        Someone wrote a rule, it is not the holy grail, that is for sure! We tend to view rules like they are god almighty because they are down in print, and they have the backing of their governing body, like the WPA or BCAPL. But in reality it is just someone with control and putting a rule down in words.

        Rule: A scored ball on the break is a re-rack.

        Rule: A scored ball legally pocketed on the break, is a re-rack.

        See the difference! Whitey
        Got it. So if I legally pocket a ball in my opponents pocket, re-rack. Sweet!

        I agree with you, though. I just get a weird satisfaction out of being pedantic with rule wordings.
        I am zero fun to play monopoly with.

        Comment


        • #19
          Originally posted by sneakynito View Post
          Got it. So if I legally pocket a ball in my opponents pocket, re-rack. Sweet!

          I agree with you, though. I just get a weird satisfaction out of being pedantic with rule wordings.
          I am zero fun to play monopoly with.
          at least you are honest about that...

          Comment


          • #20
            Originally posted by Dennis "Whitey" Young View Post
            Someone wrote a rule, it is not the holy grail, that is for sure! We tend to view rules like they are god almighty because they are down in print, and they have the backing of their governing body, like the WPA or BCAPL. But in reality it is just someone with control and putting a rule down in words.

            Rule: A scored ball on the break is a re-rack.

            Rule: A scored ball legally pocketed on the break, is a re-rack.

            See the difference! Whitey
            whitey
            you should be the rule writer.........
            only question i would have is what if you made a ball legally in HIS pocket??
            re-rack??

            Comment


            • #21
              Originally posted by lll View Post
              whitey
              you should be the rule writer.........
              only question i would have is what if you made a ball legally in HIS pocket??
              re-rack??
              Making a ball legally in the opponent's (HIS) pocket has no effect upon the break, no matter what rule you are playing by. "No re-rack"!

              The re-rack rule is based upon the breaker racking their own. Racking your own has no effect upon a ball being made in the opponent's pocket, but could be perceived as some how you can manipulate the rack to score a ball in your own pocket. Thus, the alternative rule of re-rack. Whitey
              Last edited by Dennis "Whitey" Young; 04-12-2019, 02:07 PM.

              Comment


              • #22
                I just got a response from the DCC -TD - Bret Baker, to the question I posed to him.
                Question: Your DCC alternative game rule in OP has the breaker re-rack the balls if they score a ball on the break, but what is your ruling if they also scratch?

                His reply: If you make a ball and scratch you spot that ball, owe one and opponent has BIH behind the head string. These are specific tournament rules and not part of any official rule set.

                He did further say; "Although Izvestra seen some tournaments where they just play that as re-rack and tie break too"!

                I thanked him and said; " and that I was hoping that was going to be your response".
                Whitey
                Last edited by Dennis "Whitey" Young; 04-12-2019, 04:13 PM.

                Comment


                • #23
                  Originally posted by Dennis "Whitey" Young View Post
                  Making a ball legally in the opponent's (HIS) pocket has no effect upon the break, no matter what rule you are playing by. "No re-rack"!

                  The re-rack rule is based upon the breaker racking their own. Racking your own has no effect upon a ball being made in the opponent's pocket. Whitey
                  So if you're playing rack for your opponent, and then a ball is made in the non-breaker's pocket on the break, does the rule reverse? Rerack?

                  Comment


                  • #24
                    if the rule states that if a ball is made in your pocket on the break or it is a rerack than you would need to right an addendum to the rule to stipulate that on a scratch that rule is voided. thus in my opinion it is hard to argue that it is not a rerack if you make a ball in your pocket regardless of the out come of the cueball. and also there is no way to legally pocket a ball on the break if it s a rerack

                    Comment


                    • #25
                      Originally posted by catkins View Post
                      if the rule states that if a ball is made in your pocket on the break or it is a rerack than you would need to right an addendum to the rule to stipulate that on a scratch that rule is voided. thus in my opinion it is hard to argue that it is not a rerack if you make a ball in your pocket regardless of the out come of the cueball. and also there is no way to legally pocket a ball on the break if it s a rerack
                      Catkins, I just added a further clarification to my post, coming from a further statement from the DCC-TD. He further stated that they have noticed some tournaments that play a re-rack even if you do scratch. But not at DCC, it is BIH.

                      There is no official rule concerning this scenario. But tournaments or just matching up can play it as a re-rack or BIH as an alternative rule.

                      Currently as of last MOT players meeting, we voted to play rack your own and if you score a ball on the break it counts and play continues. Whitey

                      Comment


                      • #26
                        Originally posted by Dennis "Whitey" Young View Post
                        I just got a response from the DCC -TD - Bret Baker, to the question I posed to him.
                        Question: Your DCC alternative game rule in OP has the breaker re-rack the balls if they score a ball on the break, but what is your ruling if they also scratch?

                        His reply: If you make a ball and scratch you spot that ball, owe one and opponent has BIH behind the head string. These are specific tournament rules and not part of any official rule set.

                        He did further say; "Although Izvestra seen some tournaments where they just play that as re-rack and tie break too"!

                        I thanked him and said; " and that I was hoping that was going to be your response".
                        Whitey
                        cool, thanks for digging that up!

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X