Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rules verification

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Rules verification

    I need a little help I've seen this happen many times and handle many different ways I was watching the West Coast swing the year 17 Shane playing tony a race to ten for ten and about 2 hours 15 minutes in part 1 shane has 5balls and tony scratch, he has no balls to pay,all 10 balls are behind the head string Shane has ball in hand,he kicks at a ball behind the head string,now I've seen a ball spotted for a legal shot and I've seen a kick what's the ruling thanks in advance
    Last edited by BOX; 11-05-2019, 04:34 PM.

  • #2
    I have alwasy heard yo uspot the ball closest to the head string

    Comment


    • #3
      Per the Oficial Rules on onepocket.org - "The Game" "Official One Pocket Rules" "9, Spotting Balls", Chris is correct:

      9.5 In the event of a scratch with the offending player having no balls to spot when all of the balls are located behind the head string, the ball nearest the head string may be spotted at the request of the incoming player. If two or more balls are equally close to the head string, the highest numbered ball would be spotted.

      Dave

      Comment


      • #4
        I thought the same thing but Shane kick at the ball West coast swing 1710 for 10

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by BOX View Post
          I thought the same thing but Shane kick at the ball West coast swing 1710 for 10
          Personally, it has never come up for me over the years, so I don't think it happens that often at all.

          If so, it may have to be one of those things you decide pre-match with your opponent to add to the list...

          we playing rerack? whole ball or half? 2 or more balls moved is a foul? etc etc etc....

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by BOX View Post
            I thought the same thing but Shane kick at the ball West coast swing 1710 for 10
            Nice to see you post!

            Comment


            • #7
              The general rule for spotting a ball when all balls are behind the line changed a while ago so that if two balls are equidistant -- a very unlikely occurrence -- the player gets to choose. This is so the rule works for ball sets that are not numbered.

              I think I have never seen two balls equidistant when one needed to be spotted. I can't recall ever seeing a kitchen ball spotted at one pocket, but it could happen at any spot (or none) if you start an up-table game early. I don't play those people.
              Bob Jewett
              www.sfbilliards.com

              Comment


              • #8
                For me the rules protect the integrity of the sport helps maintain credibility for your ending to continue you must pocket a ball it does not say except for the break questionable. Full ball in or out ok. Touch two balls you owe a ball ok,I play all balls foul thanks for everybody's response

                Comment


                • #9
                  Nice to see you dipping into the dark arts of one pocket, Bob. I hope you'll be weighing in on the many 1p rules vagaries and uncertainties that often come up here. It'll be nice to have a grownup in the room. And we Berkeleyites need to stick together!

                  So what's wrong with a little old school up table 1p?

                  See you at Crown.


                  Originally posted by Bob Jewett View Post
                  The general rule for spotting a ball when all balls are behind the line changed a while ago so that if two balls are equidistant -- a very unlikely occurrence -- the player gets to choose. This is so the rule works for ball sets that are not numbered.

                  I think I have never seen two balls equidistant when one needed to be spotted. I can't recall ever seeing a kitchen ball spotted at one pocket, but it could happen at any spot (or none) if you start an up-table game early. I don't play those people.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Bob Jewett would you comment on this, for I know at one time you were on the rule committee for BCA.

                    At one time, actually during my playing era, the lowest numbered ball would spot if they were equal distance behind the line. This makes perfect sense in staying consistent and avoiding confusion, for in Rotation Games the lowest number ball always spots, and if two balls spot the lowest numbered ball spots first.
                    Someone with their infamous wisdom over the years that was in power to do so, changed it to highest ball spots, even though it makes absolutely no sense. Now as you stated some billiard authorities have players choice.

                    Next, it was highly debated that it use to be when spotting a ball it would be spotted frozen to all balls including the cue ball. I site my '68 BCA rule book, and this is of course how I played the games during my playing years, '69 - '73. I actually had to post a picture of the '68 BCA spotting rule to prove that the official bca rule was to spot the ball frozen to the cue ball.

                    Spotting the balls frozen to the cue ball, and I think you will agree, gives so many more options than leaving a gap! For a ball frozen to the cue ball allows the shooter to shoot through the object ball, whereas if there is a gap then of course you are susceptible to a double hit, and have few options. Thus actually penalizing the non-fouling incoming player, and supporting the player that committed the foul.

                    Jerry Matchin sited a match where Efren purposely fouled to spot a ball to block the cue ball, thus trapping the opponent, whereas if our historical decades old rule of spotting the ball frozen to the cue ball was in play then the opposing player could of escaped! Which I sited and this started the heated debate.

                    So once again over the years this decades upon decades old BCA rule was changed though someone's infamous reasoning who was in power. BCA changed presidents over the years like we change shirts.

                    Some thought it would be a foul to spot the object ball frozen to the cue ball because it is contacted, but it is not a foul in accordance to our OP.org spotting rules. But, back in those long gone days we officially played all ball fouls, which means if this was true then just spotting a ball frozen to an object ball would then also be a foul, which it is not, and thus would not be with the cue ball, for the spotting rule supersedes the 'all ball foul' rule.

                    So I of course support the adoption of our American historical way we use to spot balls, and of course this is the way OP was played in its historical beginning, which had its guidelines following the 14.1 & General BCA rules. It is also fairer to the incoming non-fouling opponent!

                    I would like to see commonsense prevail and have OP.org adopt this spotting rule. Dr. Bill agreed with me that it does make commonsense, and he also had issue with leaving a gap, for the gap is non specific as to how much gap, and could result in argument and judgement.

                    Your thoughts! thanks, Whitey

                    We are losing our historical American rules, and I can site more!
                    Last edited by Dennis "Whitey" Young; 11-06-2019, 01:06 PM.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      I noticed that also, thought a ball needed to be spotted and was surprised when Shane shot the kick. Do you think both forfot the rule?

                      Also I haven't found part 3, thought it was up but nothing the last time I looked.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by Dennis "Whitey" Young View Post
                        ... At one time, actually during my playing era, the lowest numbered ball would spot if they were equal distance behind the line. This makes perfect sense in staying consistent and avoiding confusion, for in Rotation Games the lowest number ball always spots, and if two balls spot the lowest numbered ball spots first. ...

                        Next, it was highly debated that it use to be when spotting a ball it would be spotted frozen to all balls including the cue ball. I site my '68 BCA rule book, and this is of course how I played the games during my playing years, '69 - '73. I actually had to post a picture of the '68 BCA spotting rule to prove that the official bca rule was to spot the ball frozen to the cue ball....
                        For the first point, the only ball that might be spotted because it was behind the line at rotation is the lowest numbered ball and that is without reference to whether it is the closest to the line or not. I think it is nice to be be consistent, but in this case you have a problem for "casino" sets (reds and yellows) for eight ball. Also, if a ball was to be spotted from the kitchen in rotation, you could be certain that the cue ball would not interfere with its placement.

                        For the second, in the 1968 rule book, the rule for spotting balls is not even in the section for 14.1, it is in the section for rotation. It had been there since the 1945 rule book (for the BAA which became the BCA). The rule said that the object ball should be frozen if the cue ball was interfering with placement on the line. The rule was worded much differently in the rules from the 1920s but was essentially the same: freeze the ball.

                        The rule changed in the 1970 rule book to "close but not frozen" but it was still in the section on rotation. On the rules committee for that revision were Willie Mosconi, Irving Crane, Jimmy Caras and Joe Balsis. They may or may not have been involved with the rule change -- sometimes the committee members had no control over what was printed. So, the "don't freeze" rule has been in effect for 50 years.

                        I have not checked all the rule books since 1970, but the current rules do not freeze the spotted object ball to the cue ball -- only to other object balls. (At snooker a spotted ball is never frozen to anything.)
                        Bob Jewett
                        www.sfbilliards.com

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Thanks for the reply Bob!
                          There is always an on going endeavor to get clarification of what rules the initial Johnston City OP tournament went by. We know they used the official bca rules of 14.1 as a general rule guide line, of which they would of spotted the ball frozen to the cb. So this spotting rule is at the roots of OP.

                          It is good to know when the spotting rule changed, 1970. One would have to wonder if there was a change in presidency of BCA, for it is the same rule committee pretty much, as in '68, and they had been playing straight pool by the same spotting rule for decades prior. Any knowledgeable pool player, let alone these HOF'ers, would obviously know it is much better having a ball frozen to the cb than not when trying to maneuver using that ob.

                          Thanks for your historical knowledge, it is very much welcomed, and needed to learn the roots of the game of OP. The 1970 rule change sure explains why most all members thought that the ob was never frozen to the cb when spotting. Thanks so much! Whitey

                          real games spot balls w/ BIH-BTL.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            I have not seen this situation come up in a really long time. I think the 14.1 rule might apply here in One Pocket and that is the ball closest to the kitchen line spots? But I'm not so sure so Bob Jewett might chime in here. And, maybe we need to rethink the rules some in that these rules applied to spotting all balls which mostly comes up in nine ball. Recently in BCA, if you scratched on the break in eight ball you had to shoot a ball out of the Kitchen. I think that changed but I'm not sure. In 14.1 for example if the balls are behind the Kitchen line and you are frozen up somewhere with the rack somewhat in tact, why wouldn't a player just shoot the cueball into the hole since those balls in the Kitchen are not playable on a scratch?

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by jerry matchin View Post
                              I have not seen this situation come up in a really long time. I think the 14.1 rule might apply here in One Pocket and that is the ball closest to the kitchen line spots? But I'm not so sure so Bob Jewett might chime in here. And, maybe we need to rethink the rules some in that these rules applied to spotting all balls which mostly comes up in nine ball. Recently in BCA, if you scratched on the break in eight ball you had to shoot a ball out of the Kitchen. I think that changed but I'm not sure. In 14.1 for example if the balls are behind the Kitchen line and you are frozen up somewhere with the rack somewhat in tact, why wouldn't a player just shoot the cueball into the hole since those balls in the Kitchen are not playable on a scratch?
                              It's a little away from 1P, but....

                              The standard rule for pool when all legal targets are behind the line and the cue ball is in hand behind the line is that the legal target ball nearest the line spots at the shooter's request. In the case of equidistant legal targets, the shooter chooses, but this is a rule that exists for completeness and may never have been used in a game.

                              The BCAPL rule at eight ball recently changed and a scratch on the break gives up ball in hand anywhere. (The BCA is a different organization and goes by the WPA rule which is in the kitchen.)

                              At 14.1 when your opponent scratches and all the loose balls are behind the line and the rack is still mostly solid, it is a standard play to scratch into a side pocket and force your opponent to play from ball in hand. A common example is when a player misses the break shot and scratches and leaves the break ball in the kitchen. When he is forced to shoot from the kitchen after your scratch, the standard play is to take a second foul to the back of the rack with a soft, but not too soft, shot.
                              Bob Jewett
                              www.sfbilliards.com

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X