Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Another Ronnie Allen shot

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Another Ronnie Allen shot

    Watching an Accu-stats recently they mentioned this shot that Ronnie Allen did.Your opponnent is on the hill and you can't follow the three ball in because of the nine ball.What Ronnie did in this case was shoot the three ball in his opponents pocket using draw and drew the cue ball back and double hit the cue stick for a foul.Two ball get spotted and the cue ball stays near your opponent's pocket.What do you guys think of this shot.START(
    %AB5B7%BB4[7%CD1D5%DB4B4%EB9[9%FB7B8%GC2B3%HB4B4%IV3D6%JB9\2
    %KB8\3%LB8B1%MB3[6%NB2\0%OB7[8%PE1F2
    )END

    Pete

  • #2
    Originally posted by Eight & Out
    Watching an Accu-stats recently they mentioned this shot that Ronnie Allen did.Your opponnent is on the hill and you can't follow the three ball in because of the nine ball.What Ronnie did in this case was shoot the three ball in his opponents pocket using draw and drew the cue ball back and double hit the cue stick for a foul.Two ball get spotted and the cue ball stays near your opponent's pocket.What do you guys think of this shot.START(
    %AB5B7%BB4[7%CD1D5%DB4B4%EB9[9%FB7B8%GC2B3%HB4B4%IV3D6%JB9\2
    %KB8\3%LB8B1%MB3[6%NB2\0%OB7[8%PE1F2
    )END

    Pete
    I think Ronnie got away with one! As far as I know, there are only two generally accepted ways to make a ball in your opponent's pocket and not have it stay down and count:
    1 If the cue ball pocket scratches on the shot
    2 If the cue ball jumps the table on the shot
    Both of those are classic techniques for 'staying alive' that are important strategies in the end game of One Pocket.

    IMO For all other fouls (double hits, push shots, cue stick hits the object ball, etc), balls made in the opponent's pocket stay down -- even if a foul is called. Even the BCA rules for One Pocket say that.

    Here on Onepocket.org the current draft of proposed rules, it's covered as Rule 5.2: OnePocket.org rules for One Pocket

    Rule 5.2 also has a controversial 'option' proposal, which as a matter of fact, needs further consideration: However, in the event that any balls are pocketed in the opponent’s pocket on any other illegal stroke (such as a push shot or a double hit), the opponent may elect to have the balls stay down and be counted, or be replaced to their original positions, at their option.

    Maybe this is a good time to do a poll on the question
    "One Pocket, it's an epidemic and there ain't no cure."
    -- Strawberry Brooks

    Comment

    Working...
    X