Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Calling a foul

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Calling a foul

    This might be a dumb ? or It might have been gone over,But anyway....
    What if your opp Is not paying attention and you don't hit a rail after contact,
    do you call It on yourself or not? I have wondered about this for a long time.
    Thanks,John B.
    Click here to order the DVD
    Click here to order JB shirts

  • #2
    Originally posted by John Brumback
    This might be a dumb ? or It might have been gone over,But anyway....
    What if your opp Is not paying attention and you don't hit a rail after contact,
    do you call It on yourself or not? I have wondered about this for a long time.
    Thanks,John B.
    John,

    It's my job to watch your inning at the table, I don't let players call fouls on themselves. Conversely, I'm not putting up a ball unless you call a foul on me. It's your job when I'm at the table to watch my shot.

    Dennis

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by Cowboy Dennis
      John,

      It's my job to watch your inning at the table, I don't let players call fouls on themselves. Conversely, I'm not putting up a ball unless you call a foul on me. It's your job when I'm at the table to watch my shot.

      Dennis
      Whoo! Thanks cause that's the way I see It also.John B.
      Click here to order the DVD
      Click here to order JB shirts

      Comment


      • #4
        snooze you lose

        Comment


        • #5
          A Foul Is A Foul

          Originally posted by John Brumback
          This might be a dumb ? or It might have been gone over,But anyway....
          What if your opp Is not paying attention and you don't hit a rail after contact,
          do you call It on yourself or not? I have wondered about this for a long time.
          Thanks,John B.
          John, i guess if your opponent doesnt see it you could get away with it BUT if you fail to hit a rail IT IS A FOUL! I beleive you should tell your opponent you fouled, that is if you have integrity.. keith

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by sappo
            John, i guess if your opponent doesnt see it you could get away with it BUT if you fail to hit a rail IT IS A FOUL! I beleive you should tell your opponent you fouled, that is if you have integrity.. keith
            sappo,

            Integrity has nothing to do with it. There are situations where it would be to your opponents advantage to spot a ball up and block shots.

            If both players do their job then there will be no need for integrity to come into play.

            There is no foul until your opponent calls one on you. Do your job and eliminate any problems. Integrity is not a question here.

            Dennis

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by John Brumback
              Whoo! Thanks cause that's the way I see It also.John B.
              John,

              You're gonna wanna be careful about seeing things the way I do, people will start to think you're strange .

              Dennis

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by Cowboy Dennis
                sappo,

                Integrity has nothing to do with it. There are situations where it would be to your opponents advantage to spot a ball up and block shots.

                If both players do their job then there will be no need for integrity to come into play.

                There is no foul until your opponent calls one on you. Do your job and eliminate any problems. Integrity is not a question here.

                Dennis
                What if you sit down then drop something on the floor and while you're picking it up your opponent shoots.

                You stand up and ask what happened?


                What do you say?

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by stevelomako
                  What if you sit down then drop something on the floor and while you're picking it up your opponent shoots.

                  You stand up and ask what happened?


                  What do you say?
                  Steve,

                  When I was playing John McCue at your place I shot a ball and he was turned around lighting a cigarrette. He turned around when I shot a slow moving safety and he never saw anything hit a rail although a couple of balls did. He took a chance anyway, just to see how stupid I was. He said "did you get a rail there?". I told him that if he had been watching the shot then he would know. That ended the conversation.

                  As to your question: I have never and would never fail to see my opponents shot and then ask what happened. It's my possible loss for not paying attention to his shot.

                  Dennis

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    US Open One Pocket

                    So - with the questions about 'snooze you loose' - or if you had a legitimate reason for not having your eyes on the table.

                    Do you guys think we should have a ref on the final table? Who would rule on all fouls made?

                    Would this be a good addition and on which matches should a ref be present.

                    We cannot have a ref on every table and every shot - but we can on so many of the final matches.

                    Your thoughts???

                    mark Griffin
                    (markg@playcsipool.com)
                    702-719-7665 office

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Foul/Integrity/Honesty

                      IMO
                      I agree with Sappo and Steve. Honesty and integrity are not conditional (to me). What is the difference between not telling that you fouled and cheating? Semantics. If you can live with it you will....I guess. I would tell and it would not matter if it was a beneficial spot.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by akrick
                        IMO
                        I agree with Sappo and Steve. Honesty and integrity are not conditional (to me). What is the difference between not telling that you fouled and cheating? Semantics. If you can live with it you will....I guess. I would tell and it would not matter if it was a beneficial spot.
                        Steve didn't give an opinion either way, he asked two questions.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by markgriffin
                          So - with the questions about 'snooze you loose' - or if you had a legitimate reason for not having your eyes on the table.

                          Do you guys think we should have a ref on the final table? Who would rule on all fouls made?

                          Would this be a good addition and on which matches should a ref be present.

                          We cannot have a ref on every table and every shot - but we can on so many of the final matches.

                          Your thoughts???

                          mark Griffin
                          (markg@playcsipool.com)
                          702-719-7665 office
                          mark i am just an amateur so take what i say for what its worth
                          having a ref at the finals just avoids controversy
                          jmho

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Dissagree

                            Originally posted by Cowboy Dennis
                            sappo,

                            Integrity has nothing to do with it. There are situations where it would be to your opponents advantage to spot a ball up and block shots.

                            If both players do their job then there will be no need for integrity to come into play.

                            There is no foul until your opponent calls one on you. Do your job and eliminate any problems. Integrity is not a question here.

                            Dennis
                            Dennis, i think your comments are for the most part absolutely correct but this is one that i have to disagree with.
                            I dont know about the other members here but my position is when John represents OnePocket.org in Las Vegas I hope he would call a foul on himself if he committed one. Keith

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by sappo
                              Dennis, i think your comments are for the most part absolutely correct but this is one that i have to disagree with.
                              I dont know about the other members here but my position is when John represents OnePocket.org in Las Vegas I hope he would call a foul on himself if he committed one. Keith
                              sappo,

                              Although I'm always talking about gambling situations when questions arise I would stand by what I believe no matter where the game was, tournament or not. To do less would show no character at all from me. If John accidently fouled the rock or didn't get a rail on a shot it would go against his own stated opinion here to call a foul on himself.

                              Let me be perfectly clear here: If John & I were gambling or in a tournament and he called a foul on himself and tried to spot a ball, I would tell him no. He and I both feel the same on this (scary) and we both know it's your opponent's duty to watch the game and call supposed fouls.

                              It's opponents who are lazy or distracted that leads to problems.

                              Dennis

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X