OnePocket.org Forums

OnePocket.org Forums (http://www.onepocket.org/forum/index.php)
-   One Pocket Forum (http://www.onepocket.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Gambling and the Break as a Spot in One Pocket (http://www.onepocket.org/forum/showthread.php?t=15260)

J.R. 03-18-2019 05:45 AM

Gambling and the Break as a Spot in One Pocket
 
I have a question regarding the break in one pocket. I will present the question in its simplest layout. Additionally, there are no written house rules at Red Shoes Billiards regarding the below situation.

Two players are gambling. One of the players is getting each and every break as the spot. The only stipulation is that the player getting the spot must change pockets after each game. Both players agree to the stipulation.

The player getting the spot breaks to the left corner pocket in the first game. The player getting the spot breaks to the left corner pocket in the second game. After the player getting the spot breaks, his opponent states that this game must be restarted because he should have broken to the right corner pocket. The player getting the spot objects. An argument ensues and "you" are asked to make a decision on whether the game has started or whether the game must be re-racked and started again with the player getting the spot breaking to the right corner pocket.

How would you rule? Please provide the reasoning for your ruling.

I will provide additional information regarding the above situation and how I ruled in a few days.

BRLongArm 03-18-2019 05:49 AM

Illegal break. Rerack. The players agreed the breaker would alternate pockets. This was not done, probably by mistake. Rerack.

Mkbtank 03-18-2019 07:51 AM

Gambling and the Break as a Spot in One Pocket
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BRLongArm (Post 254140)
Illegal break. Rerack. The players agreed the breaker would alternate pockets. This was not done, probably by mistake. Rerack.



Agreed. Rerack.

Dennis "Whitey" Young 03-18-2019 07:56 AM

Why make a handicap if neither one of them can remember the very 1st. time it comes up. They sound like old guys! One guy is breaking for the wrong pocket, and the other guy is sleeping through it, come on give me a 'break'!

Ruling; give him two balls on your break, and no balls on his break, keep it simple! Whitey

lll 03-18-2019 08:57 AM

if the guy was a jerk and wouldnt re rack
i would just keep playing with you (now the shooter) thanking him for surrounding your hole with balls and its your shot......:D
just like if he shoots one in your hole
you keep it and it ends his inning (if he didnt make one in his pocket too )

Dennis "Whitey" Young 03-18-2019 09:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lll (Post 254147)
if the guy was a jerk and wouldnt re rack
i would just keep playing with you (now the shooter) thanking him for surrounding your hole with balls and its your shot......:D
just like if he shoots one in your hole
you keep it and it ends his inning (if he didnt make one in his pocket too )

Excellent point! For the non-breaker sleep through the break shot, but realized it afterwards, thus like you said, just could of thank him for putting balls by your pocket! Whitey

jrhendy 03-18-2019 10:16 AM

Unless it is hard core ‘You snooze you lose’, it should be a rerack or per Larry’s suggestion, you play the game out going for the correct hole.

El Chapo 03-18-2019 10:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dennis "Whitey" Young (Post 254151)
Excellent point! For the non-breaker sleep through the break shot, but realized it afterwards, thus like you said, just could of thank him for putting balls by your pocket! Whitey

I thought for sure that was going to be the question half way through the first post.

So, let me ask it... what happens if the incoming player says tough, that is your hole, you broke for the wrong hole that is your problem, not mine, and proceeds to shoot for the hole the breaker broke for?

lll 03-18-2019 11:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lll (Post 254147)
if the guy was a jerk and wouldnt re rack
i would just keep playing with you (now the shooter) thanking him for surrounding your hole with balls and its your shot......:D
just like if he shoots one in your hole
you keep it and it ends his inning (if he didnt make one in his pocket too )

Quote:

Originally Posted by El Chapo (Post 254170)
I thought for sure that was going to be the question half way through the first post.

So, let me ask it... what happens if the incoming player says tough, that is your hole, you broke for the wrong hole that is your problem, not mine, and proceeds to shoot for the hole the breaker broke for?

that is what i proposed .
what happens depends on the personality of the breaker.....:heh

wincardona 03-18-2019 12:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by J.R. (Post 254139)
I have a question regarding the break in one pocket. I will present the question in its simplest layout. Additionally, there are no written house rules at Red Shoes Billiards regarding the below situation.

Two players are gambling. One of the players is getting each and every break as the spot. The only stipulation is that the player getting the spot must change pockets after each game. Both players agree to the stipulation.

The player getting the spot breaks to the left corner pocket in the first game. The player getting the spot breaks to the left corner pocket in the second game. After the player getting the spot breaks, his opponent states that this game must be restarted because he should have broken to the right corner pocket. The player getting the spot objects. An argument ensues and "you" are asked to make a decision on whether the game has started or whether the game must be re-racked and started again with the player getting the spot breaking to the right corner pocket.

How would you rule? Please provide the reasoning for your ruling.

I will provide additional information regarding the above situation and how I ruled in a few days.

This is a sticky situation, technically the breaker should be forced to take the pocket opposite of the pocket he broke to, but that's taking it a bit too far. So what do you do in this situation? It is always good business to clarify before hand if you break toward the same pocket in succession then you keep the pocket you break to. It's up to both players to keep the game manageable and fair to ensure a smooth playing match, with the rule in place that if the breaker breaks for the same pocket twice in succession he keeps the pocket he broke to. This situation has come up thousands of times, particularly after the match has been played for many hours it's just good business to clarify the possible problems that may ensue and play under the revised terms.

What should you do in the above scenario? Flipping a coin for the solution and then clarify the potential problem by making the rule ..you snooze you lose.

Dr. Bill


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All original content Copyright Onepocket.org and/or the original author. All rights reserved.