View Single Post
Old 08-19-2019, 06:00 PM
JohnInNH JohnInNH is offline
Verified Member
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bedford, NH
Posts: 144

Originally Posted by Tom Wirth View Post
In watching yesterday's match between Scott Frost and Danny Smith I heard an interesting idea when it came to a player who makes a ball on the break and the re-rack rule is in force. Did any of you catch this?

The rules for one pocket do not include a re rack for pocketing a ball on the break, so why do we change the rules?
Everyone talks about speeding up the game but what does the multiple re racks do to the the time constraints?

I don't know if this rule was implemented in this match but here is what was at least suggested:

Rack your own and if you make a ball on the break it calls for a re-rack.
Now here was the interesting part. Should you scratch on your follow-up break you can then have a third and deciding re-rack and break.

I think this is only fair considering how on the first break you would be in such a commanding position
and with having scratched on your second attempt you are now in deep guano. Seems like the two
breaks cancel one another out.
It will not happen often but it will happen.

Why have multiple breaks if you allow a pocketed ball and leave it at that, and continue with the game, how often are pocketed balls made on the break does anyone know, does it make any difference in the outcome?

What does the public think of this idea?
I suggest we include this rule in our tournaments.
This inquiring mind wants the know.

Just my humble opinion.

Reply With Quote