View Single Post
Old 03-18-2019, 11:04 AM
wincardona wincardona is offline
Verified Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas Tx.
Posts: 7,247

Originally Posted by J.R. View Post
I have a question regarding the break in one pocket. I will present the question in its simplest layout. Additionally, there are no written house rules at Red Shoes Billiards regarding the below situation.

Two players are gambling. One of the players is getting each and every break as the spot. The only stipulation is that the player getting the spot must change pockets after each game. Both players agree to the stipulation.

The player getting the spot breaks to the left corner pocket in the first game. The player getting the spot breaks to the left corner pocket in the second game. After the player getting the spot breaks, his opponent states that this game must be restarted because he should have broken to the right corner pocket. The player getting the spot objects. An argument ensues and "you" are asked to make a decision on whether the game has started or whether the game must be re-racked and started again with the player getting the spot breaking to the right corner pocket.

How would you rule? Please provide the reasoning for your ruling.

I will provide additional information regarding the above situation and how I ruled in a few days.
This is a sticky situation, technically the breaker should be forced to take the pocket opposite of the pocket he broke to, but that's taking it a bit too far. So what do you do in this situation? It is always good business to clarify before hand if you break toward the same pocket in succession then you keep the pocket you break to. It's up to both players to keep the game manageable and fair to ensure a smooth playing match, with the rule in place that if the breaker breaks for the same pocket twice in succession he keeps the pocket he broke to. This situation has come up thousands of times, particularly after the match has been played for many hours it's just good business to clarify the possible problems that may ensue and play under the revised terms.

What should you do in the above scenario? Flipping a coin for the solution and then clarify the potential problem by making the rule snooze you lose.

Dr. Bill
Reply With Quote