Go Back   OnePocket.org Forums > One Pocket Forum
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2011, 09:05 PM
John Brumback's Avatar
John Brumback John Brumback is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,747
Default Calling a foul

This might be a dumb ? or It might have been gone over,But anyway....
What if your opp Is not paying attention and you don't hit a rail after contact,
do you call It on yourself or not? I have wondered about this for a long time.
Thanks,John B.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2011, 09:15 PM
Cowboy Dennis's Avatar
Cowboy Dennis Cowboy Dennis is offline
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit,Michigan
Posts: 11,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Brumback
This might be a dumb ? or It might have been gone over,But anyway....
What if your opp Is not paying attention and you don't hit a rail after contact,
do you call It on yourself or not? I have wondered about this for a long time.
Thanks,John B.
John,

It's my job to watch your inning at the table, I don't let players call fouls on themselves. Conversely, I'm not putting up a ball unless you call a foul on me. It's your job when I'm at the table to watch my shot.

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2011, 09:20 PM
John Brumback's Avatar
John Brumback John Brumback is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy Dennis
John,

It's my job to watch your inning at the table, I don't let players call fouls on themselves. Conversely, I'm not putting up a ball unless you call a foul on me. It's your job when I'm at the table to watch my shot.

Dennis
Whoo! Thanks cause that's the way I see It also.John B.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2011, 09:27 PM
lll lll is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: vero beach fl
Posts: 14,552
Default

snooze you lose
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2011, 09:34 PM
sappo's Avatar
sappo sappo is online now
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 1,058
Default A Foul Is A Foul

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Brumback
This might be a dumb ? or It might have been gone over,But anyway....
What if your opp Is not paying attention and you don't hit a rail after contact,
do you call It on yourself or not? I have wondered about this for a long time.
Thanks,John B.
John, i guess if your opponent doesnt see it you could get away with it BUT if you fail to hit a rail IT IS A FOUL! I beleive you should tell your opponent you fouled, that is if you have integrity.. keith
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2011, 09:43 PM
Cowboy Dennis's Avatar
Cowboy Dennis Cowboy Dennis is offline
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit,Michigan
Posts: 11,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sappo
John, i guess if your opponent doesnt see it you could get away with it BUT if you fail to hit a rail IT IS A FOUL! I beleive you should tell your opponent you fouled, that is if you have integrity.. keith
sappo,

Integrity has nothing to do with it. There are situations where it would be to your opponents advantage to spot a ball up and block shots.

If both players do their job then there will be no need for integrity to come into play.

There is no foul until your opponent calls one on you. Do your job and eliminate any problems. Integrity is not a question here.

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-27-2011, 09:45 PM
Cowboy Dennis's Avatar
Cowboy Dennis Cowboy Dennis is offline
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit,Michigan
Posts: 11,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Brumback
Whoo! Thanks cause that's the way I see It also.John B.
John,

You're gonna wanna be careful about seeing things the way I do, people will start to think you're strange .

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-27-2011, 09:48 PM
stevelomako stevelomako is online now
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy Dennis
sappo,

Integrity has nothing to do with it. There are situations where it would be to your opponents advantage to spot a ball up and block shots.

If both players do their job then there will be no need for integrity to come into play.

There is no foul until your opponent calls one on you. Do your job and eliminate any problems. Integrity is not a question here.

Dennis
What if you sit down then drop something on the floor and while you're picking it up your opponent shoots.

You stand up and ask what happened?


What do you say?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-27-2011, 09:57 PM
Cowboy Dennis's Avatar
Cowboy Dennis Cowboy Dennis is offline
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit,Michigan
Posts: 11,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevelomako
What if you sit down then drop something on the floor and while you're picking it up your opponent shoots.

You stand up and ask what happened?


What do you say?
Steve,

When I was playing John McCue at your place I shot a ball and he was turned around lighting a cigarrette. He turned around when I shot a slow moving safety and he never saw anything hit a rail although a couple of balls did. He took a chance anyway, just to see how stupid I was. He said "did you get a rail there?". I told him that if he had been watching the shot then he would know. That ended the conversation.

As to your question: I have never and would never fail to see my opponents shot and then ask what happened. It's my possible loss for not paying attention to his shot.

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-27-2011, 09:59 PM
markgriffin markgriffin is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 125
Default US Open One Pocket

So - with the questions about 'snooze you loose' - or if you had a legitimate reason for not having your eyes on the table.

Do you guys think we should have a ref on the final table? Who would rule on all fouls made?

Would this be a good addition and on which matches should a ref be present.

We cannot have a ref on every table and every shot - but we can on so many of the final matches.

Your thoughts???

mark Griffin
(markg@playcsipool.com)
702-719-7665 office
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All original content Copyright Onepocket.org and/or the original author. All rights reserved.