Go Back   OnePocket.org Forums > One Pocket Forum
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-18-2019, 02:38 PM
beatle beatle is online now
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,078
Default

if playing with someone for a large amount you dont like i would certainly say you have the hole where the cueball is and its my shot. there is no rule you cant break from any side and you have the side opposite where you broke from unless you call otherwise.

friendlier game rerack and warn him next time tough luck. if he hit a bad break tell him okay this time but next time you have the other hole.

same thing in nine ball you dont tell the shooter he is shooting at the wrong ball, unless small bet and a friend.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-19-2019, 02:49 PM
johnnytronic johnnytronic is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 56
Default

this has happened to me just recently and it caused a big argument.
I was getting the breaks from a player that spots me the breaks quite often. In the past we have alternated pockets but this time either one of us talked about it and or forgot. Not all players spotting the breaks require that you alt pockets or even know why it's better to play this way. What if the spotter knows you prefer a pocket and he prefer's and runs balls better to the adjacent pocket. IN that case he wants you to not alternate the pocket.

This can be tricky even if both players agree on the alternating pocket. Like in my case, I had the game locked up by the time he said "Hey wtf, you broke to the same pocket twice" Well it's too late now, balls have been pocketed and we both forgot! What if he realized I broke to the wrong pocket but wanted to see how the game played out or if he can reverse the edge or had a dead ball. What if off the break he did have a dead ball and I realized it "sorry can't shoot it, broke on the wrong side" I can guarantee he would say "that's your problem" Im accepting this break.

Great breaks can win games right, IMO before the guy breaks you have to stop him and remind him. You can not do it after you asses the layout.
That's low integrity moves. It's justifiable because the agreement was made but it's drama in the making.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-19-2019, 03:53 PM
El Chapo El Chapo is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,534
Default

Ok... purposefully break to the wrong pocket in an alternating pocket matchup. This is the bait.

You need to see what he does, there are only a few possible scenarios. But if he shoots for the wrong hole based on your break, you just run out to the correct hole you were supposed to be breakin for and rackem up.

I am just messin around. Ronnie supposedly did purposefully shoot to the wrong hole at times after a guy shot at the wrong pocket... at least i heard grady say that. Ronnie would duck a shot or two shooting at the wrong hole following the guy's lead. Then when ronnie got a good shot hed tell the guy he was shootin at the wrong hole and run out.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-20-2019, 01:53 PM
Dennis "Whitey" Young Dennis "Whitey" Young is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Klamath Falls, Or.
Posts: 1,248
Default

Get a 'red' poker chip and place it by the breaker's scoring pocket, and move it each time to the other side for each break. That way there is a secondary record, and not relying on memory as much. Now it takes two players to remember to move the chip, not easy! LOL.

I believe 7-ball is played this way to keep track of which side of the table the player has to pocket the 7. Correct me if I am wrong on this! Whitey
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-20-2019, 03:31 PM
ChicagoFats ChicagoFats is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by El Chapo View Post
Ok... purposefully break to the wrong pocket in an alternating pocket matchup. This is the bait.

You need to see what he does, there are only a few possible scenarios. But if he shoots for the wrong hole based on your break, you just run out to the correct hole you were supposed to be breakin for and rackem up.

I am just messin around. Ronnie supposedly did purposefully shoot to the wrong hole at times after a guy shot at the wrong pocket... at least i heard grady say that. Ronnie would duck a shot or two shooting at the wrong hole following the guy's lead. Then when ronnie got a good shot hed tell the guy he was shootin at the wrong hole and run out.
Thats so sick. I think I did this once.
I really think we should use pocket markers the same way players cover their hole cards in poker.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-20-2019, 08:51 PM
Jim McCary Jim McCary is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 45
Default

I think there was an agreement before they started and when he broke to the wrong hole, there should be a rerack because there was a violation of the agreement. The guy breaking does not have a leg to stand on if he wants to argue.

Jim Mc
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-20-2019, 09:20 PM
beatle beatle is online now
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,078
Default

in reality the game goes on and the breaker just knocked a bunch of balls in front of his opponents hole who now shoots.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-20-2019, 09:46 PM
lll lll is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: vero beach fl
Posts: 14,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lll View Post
if the guy was a jerk and wouldnt re rack
i would just keep playing with you (now the shooter) thanking him for surrounding your hole with balls and its your shot......
just like if he shoots one in your hole
you keep it and it ends his inning (if he didnt make one in his pocket too )
Quote:
Originally Posted by beatle View Post
in reality the game goes on and the breaker just knocked a bunch of balls in front of his opponents hole who now shoots.
beatle
i am always amazed and encouraged when we agreee......
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-21-2019, 03:44 PM
chicagomike chicagomike is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,280
Default

Re-rack and break towards correct hole. No big deal in my book....If he refuses just go after his family....simple.
__________________
Live long and play strong,
-Chicagomike
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-21-2019, 04:36 PM
beatle beatle is online now
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,078
Default

it isnt that simple when gambling as what if he did make a ball in the hole he was supposed to have. now he may want it and want to keep shooting. so you cant have it both ways. so for any important games you have to specify what happens and when if broken to a wrong pocket.
if no one does that then you just have a player that made a big mistake and suffers from it. isnt that part of competition?
same if he forgets and shoots a ball in your hole. do you put it back and let him shoot again or do you just say thanks and now take the table.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All original content Copyright Onepocket.org and/or the original author. All rights reserved.