Chess? Do you think many moves ahead?

onepocketchump

Verified Member
When I play I sometimes try to think several moves ahead like chess. Does anyone else play one hole this way or is act/react and take it as it comes? Or is it a mixture of both methods?

What I mean by this to be more specific is that sometimes I will play shots to set up banks or caroms for later - I try to predict what my opponent will do if I do x and then I think about what I will do after he does that...

Sorry if this has been discussed before. I am still a noob on this forum.

John

blackeee

Verified Member
From
Jackson, Tn
onepocketchump said:
When I play I sometimes try to think several moves ahead like chess. Does anyone else play one hole this way or is act/react and take it as it comes? Or is it a mixture of both methods?

What I mean by this to be more specific is that sometimes I will play shots to set up banks or caroms for later - I try to predict what my opponent will do if I do x and then I think about what I will do after he does that...

Sorry if this has been discussed before. I am still a noob on this forum.

John

I don't think you can think like 4 shots ahead because your opponent might not do what you predict he will. One form of thinking ahead is playing the score. If you're trying to protect a lead you want to keep him under the balls to force him to shoot em up table. Another form of thinking ahead is to be able to see that you are fixing to get to get in trouble if you don't do something besides playing a passive safety.

NH Steve

Administrator
From
New Hampshire
I sure like the idea of thinking ahead, but in reality I am focused more on optimizing as best I can from the situation my opponent has left me. I guess I also do regularly think about what their next shot might be -- or more likely, I am trying to put them somewhere to prevent them from playing a certain shot I am aware of, that I do not want them to be able to have available.