Go Back   OnePocket.org Forums > One Pocket Forum
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2019, 04:30 AM
beatle beatle is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,091
Default what do you think about what ben let dave do in the finals

in the last game i think. ben played a safe and sent the cue ball up in the corner pocket so had to spot two balls. so he put them up.

dave then proceeded to line them up and go around and check them from different angles and realign them. then ben let dave even tap one down with the butt of his cuestick. so he could do the okie dokey shot.

would you let your opponent the shooter in the finals do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2019, 06:45 AM
12squared 12squared is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 1,531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatle View Post
in the last game i think. ben played a safe and sent the cue ball up in the corner pocket so had to spot two balls. so he put them up.

dave then proceeded to line them up and go around and check them from different angles and realign them. then ben let dave even tap one down with the butt of his cuestick. so he could do the okie dokey shot.

would you let your opponent the shooter in the finals do this?
No issue. Ben spotted the 2 balls first and they were not frozen. I asked Ben if I could freeze them before touching them and they would not freeze. Even after tapping them they were not perfectly frozen but I didn't want to keep doing it. I should have cleaned/rubbed the table near the spot to see if that would help.

This happens all the time, the 2 balls should be frozen...period. It wasn't Ben's fault they were not frozen when he spotted them because I tried a bunch of times and couldn't get them to fully freeze.

I will be interested in everyone's thoughts on this - what was your thought, Beatle?

Note: I really enjoyed playing Ben and look forward to the next time. I reviewed the stream video and I really should not have won; Ben had several tough scratches that stopped his runs that got me back to the table. And as Hendy mentioned, I shot a few shots that made him (and me) cringe. But I'm still grateful for the victory, it was a blast - win or lose.
Dave

Last edited by 12squared; 06-13-2019 at 06:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2019, 09:21 AM
Bmoretallpaul Bmoretallpaul is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatle View Post
in the last game i think. ben played a safe and sent the cue ball up in the corner pocket so had to spot two balls. so he put them up.

dave then proceeded to line them up and go around and check them from different angles and realign them. then ben let dave even tap one down with the butt of his cuestick. so he could do the okie dokey shot.

would you let your opponent the shooter in the finals do this?
The answer is yes, the balls are supposed to be straight and frozen. Whether he does the okie dokie shot or not. I'm, sure Dave asked Ben prior to touching the balls and Ben agreed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2019, 09:25 AM
Mkbtank's Avatar
Mkbtank Mkbtank is online now
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philly Pa
Posts: 5,182
Default what do you think about what ben let dave do in the finals

I shoot the “Road Shot” as I call it consistently. Many times I have made my opponent reset the balls straight and many times they just tell me to do it. To ensure that they are straight and frozen. I would also let an opponent do the same.
__________________
Mitch needs to remember to play the score and that it's better to win than to look like a hero.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2019, 10:09 AM
jtompilot jtompilot is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 3,745
Default

Resetting the spotted balls happen all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2019, 10:13 AM
Dennis "Whitey" Young Dennis "Whitey" Young is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Klamath Falls, Or.
Posts: 1,251
Default

Many times I have posted about OP proper procedure, with little to no response! The lack of specifically pointing out proper procedure (what is expected of players) when playing OP lends to this gray area, for no where in any rules does it state that the opponent is to spot balls for the incoming shooter!

Here is proper procedure:
Opponent always spots balls for the incoming shooter.
A scored ball is always placed in their collective area by the scorer.
A ball owed is always removed by the player that owes the ball.
The coin is always placed or removed by the offending player.
A neutral ball pocketed is the ball spotted, and not another ball.
A break from play can only be taken during your inning.

With the above in placed then it is courteous to remind a player when a proper procedure is forgotten. For instance; you remind a player to place a coin.

Further:
A player down on the shot can not be interrupted. The shooter points to and declares balls are frozen. Opponent can approach the table to inspect close proximity shots or to determine whether balls are frozen or not, and at appropriate times can discuss a coin or ball forgotten, or a neutral ball mistakenly placed in a collective area, and things of this nature, but should never approach the table and disrupt a shooter to simply ask what the score is.

These simple above statements would add so much to the excellence of OP. Whitey
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2019, 10:13 AM
gulfportdoc's Avatar
gulfportdoc gulfportdoc is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gulfport, Mississippi
Posts: 9,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beatle View Post
in the last game i think. ben played a safe and sent the cue ball up in the corner pocket so had to spot two balls. so he put them up.

dave then proceeded to line them up and go around and check them from different angles and realign them. then ben let dave even tap one down with the butt of his cuestick. so he could do the okie dokey shot.

would you let your opponent the shooter in the finals do this?
The way Ben and Dave handled it was ideal. They were both in agreement.

But as to your question whether an opponent, unannounced, would take it upon himself to "neaten up" the two spotted balls: if a guy did that to me after I'd placed them, and did not get my permission, I'd be looking to call an intentional foul, especially if the guy was a stranger. If a friend did it, I'd likely not say anything. Well...... maybe a few wisecracks..

~Doc
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2019, 10:29 AM
ChicagoFats ChicagoFats is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 671
Default

Standard no issue.

However, if you let the guy line them up... the non-shooter should have a chance to review and address anything.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2019, 10:31 AM
gulfportdoc's Avatar
gulfportdoc gulfportdoc is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Gulfport, Mississippi
Posts: 9,262
Default

Good advice Whitey.

Re: "A break from play can only be taken during your inning." To refine the statement, a break can be taken anytime, subject to any tournament stipulations, but the only time your opponent must stop play is when you take a break before or during your inning. If you take a break before or during the opponent's inning, he can continue shooting.

I learned this the hard way during a 9ball tournament match in Reno against Max Eberle. About midway through, the match was close, but he was picking up steam. At one point I thought I'd break his roll by taking a break while he was shooting. When I got back from the restroom, he had run the rack, and was racking for the next game, which was legal. Nobody had been watching, but it didn't matter. I never did THAT again!..

~Doc
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2019, 12:56 PM
Dennis "Whitey" Young Dennis "Whitey" Young is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Klamath Falls, Or.
Posts: 1,251
Default

I watched some of this year's MOT, and thanks Kentucky for the stream. But, what I saw more often than not was the impatience of the sitting opponent that upon the shooter's inning ending they would jump up and place balls in their opponent's collective area, spot balls, and work the coins. This to some may seem courteous, but to me it all goes to not having proper procedures instilled.

All the incoming player should do is wait until the outgoing player takes care of his own balls and coins, and then go and start your inning, and technically thereafter is when your inning starts.

In no other game is there so much interaction with balls and coins, and thus also players, and in my observation of matches, I believe there is a need for specific procedural order.

This game is also much different than other games in that it takes so much concentration and thinking when your at the table. Therefore, an opponent approaching the table and disrupting this thought process, they better have one hell of a good reason! And I can not think of one. I would wait until he shot then approach the table and discuss forgot balls or something along that order.

Kentucky stopped me when I was down on a shot, but he realized I was shooting at the wrong hole. Very good sportsmanship!

In this case in question of spotting the balls, it was handled very appropriately by the players. Whitey
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All original content Copyright Onepocket.org and/or the original author. All rights reserved.