End Game Situations..what to do?

loveshiscue

Verified Member
From
Miami, Fl
Hi all. I've been playing one pocket for about 2 years and am still pretty green at it. Definitely shoot way too much at my hole. I do play decent 9ball level, enough when I was in college to win the ACUI tourny. I tell you that not to toot my horn as much to give you an idea of my play level so you can weigh that factor in evaluating my shot selection choices. The other day I was left this. My pocket is on top.

START(
%HF0Z7%Pq5L9%eB4a4

)END

Pretty familiar situation eh? I think this comes up nearly every session I play.

My thoughts were
a) Cut bank with about 2 cuetips of right and a bit of draw as well. Cueball 3 rails into the bottom corner uptable.
b) Kick the ball out bottom rail first with top and a bit of left. Try to stick whitey and take the object ball one rail out towards the top corner. Dont hit the ball hard enough to go all the way into the corner pocket or out of play completely. Hopefully end up straight in with the cueball.

So whats the correct play from here? B is what I chose because earlier I tried A and hit it so bad it curved, missed the 8 entirely and scratched. I have executed A quite a few times but I dont hold up well with this shot when I'm under alot of pressure. Should I practice A more until this shot is much more reliable? Tony Chohan came through south florida a while back and he for sure seemed to always take choice A and most of the times made or hung the ball and never seemed to scratch. I can maybe execute this shot 4/10 times whereas the kick is at least 7-8/10 if not more.

Should I do something completely different?

How does your advice change if we move the cueball one to 1.5 diamonds south?

The Grinder

From
Grand Rapids, Michigan
You might try this

You might try this

START(
%HF0Z7%Pq5L9%UE7Y4%VC2W0%WD1V8%Xp7M2%Yr6R5%ZH5[3%[D8F4%\E9Y9
%]f0E2%^s3R3%eA6a0
)END