Go Back   OnePocket.org Forums > One Pocket Forum
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2013, 11:26 PM
mn90403 mn90403 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 10
Post Object Ball Foul

A situation came up in a game today and I would like to know how it would be interpreted. Here is the situation: A ball is in the opponent's pocket. It is pocketed by an object ball and the object ball jumps off the table. Does the opponents ball stay down or come up?

Here is a similar situation that is more clear: A ball is in the opponent's pocket. It is pocketed by the cue ball and the cue ball jumps off the table. Does the opponents ball stay down or come up?

According to rule 6-2 it is very clearly stated that the opponent's ball comes out and the shooter must spot it and a penalty ball. We all play this rule 'without question' from either player.

It is not so clear when it is an object ball that does the pocketing and the jumping off the table.

What are your interpretations of 'any other foul is committed?'

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2013, 12:22 AM
Dudley's Avatar
Dudley Dudley is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 748
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mn90403 View Post
A situation came up in a game today and I would like to know how it would be interpreted. Here is the situation: A ball is in the opponent's pocket. It is pocketed by an object ball and the object ball jumps off the table. Does the opponents ball stay down or come up?

Here is a similar situation that is more clear: A ball is in the opponent's pocket. It is pocketed by the cue ball and the cue ball jumps off the table. Does the opponents ball stay down or come up?

According to rule 6-2 it is very clearly stated that the opponent's ball comes out and the shooter must spot it and a penalty ball. We all play this rule 'without question' from either player.

It is not so clear when it is an object ball that does the pocketing and the jumping off the table.

What are your interpretations of 'any other foul is committed?'

Thank you.

In our area.. a ball off the table is a foul. I'm sure it is played differently in other places though depending on the house rules.

Dudley
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2013, 12:43 AM
wincardona wincardona is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas Tx.
Posts: 7,258
Default

I believe that if an object ball jumps the table after pocketing a ball in your opponents pocket the ball counts for your opponent, and the shooter is penalized one ball. However, if the cue ball jumps the table after pocketing a ball in your opponents pocket the ball is re-spotted along with one of the shooters balls.

Dr. Bill
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2013, 08:02 AM
NH Steve's Avatar
NH Steve NH Steve is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 8,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wincardona View Post
I believe that if an object ball jumps the table after pocketing a ball in your opponents pocket the ball counts for your opponent, and the shooter is penalized one ball. However, if the cue ball jumps the table after pocketing a ball in your opponents pocket the ball is re-spotted along with one of the shooters balls.

Dr. Bill
That is the way it is in the official onepocket.org rules. In some areas of the country they have traditionally played that an object ball off the table is not a foul. But either way, the pocketed ball would stay down and count for the opponent, because an object ball jumping the table is not one of the two kinds of foul that bring up an opponent's pocketed ball -- that's only a pocket scratch or the cue ball jumping the table.
__________________
"One Pocket, it's an epidemic and there ain't no cure."
-- Strawberry Brooks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2013, 09:33 AM
tylerdurden's Avatar
tylerdurden tylerdurden is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,959
Default

I have often wondered what would be wrong with letting the incoming, non-fouling player choose if he wants the ball down or spotted in many of these instances. It also comes up where a guy makes a huge blunder, owes a ball, and pulls the ball out to pay it up and it blocks every shot the non-fouler has. Why can't you just "decline" in one pocket. I know it is just the way we play, but why? Is there some inherent flaw in my thinking besides "we just don't play like that (pound chest)?

To belabor the point, take op's scenario. I just don't see any reason why his opponent's blunder should not hurt him to the max. What if his opponent left him out if the ball is spotted, but if not he is in a tough spot. I think being his call would be a good rule - blast away
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2013, 09:41 AM
Cowboy Dennis's Avatar
Cowboy Dennis Cowboy Dennis is offline
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit,Michigan
Posts: 11,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerdurden View Post
I have often wondered what would be wrong with letting the incoming, non-fouling player choose if he wants the ball down or spotted in many of these instances. It also comes up where a guy makes a huge blunder, owes a ball, and pulls the ball out to pay it up and it blocks every shot the non-fouler has. Why can't you just "decline" in one pocket. I know it is just the way we play, but why? Is there some inherent flaw in my thinking besides "we just don't play like that (pound chest)?

To belabor the point, take op's scenario. I just don't see any reason why his opponent's blunder should not hurt him to the max. What if his opponent left him out if the ball is spotted, but if not he is in a tough spot. I think being his call would be a good rule - blast away
TD,

Poolplayers have two very strong aversions. One is towards working. The other is towards thinking.

There are other rules they follow because "that's the way we do it so STFU". They ain't geniuses.

RBL
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2013, 09:43 AM
Cowboy Dennis's Avatar
Cowboy Dennis Cowboy Dennis is offline
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Detroit,Michigan
Posts: 11,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mn90403 View Post
A situation came up in a game today and I would like to know how it would be interpreted. Here is the situation: A ball is in the opponent's pocket. It is pocketed by an object ball and the object ball jumps off the table. Does the opponents ball stay down or come up?


Thank you.
This situation was never a foul in Detroit. The ball stayed down and the jumped ball spotted up. I don't know how they play it now but I would never play "object ball off the table is a foul".

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2013, 11:37 AM
piggybank04 piggybank04 is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy Dennis View Post
This situation was never a foul in Detroit. The ball stayed down and the jumped ball spotted up. I don't know how they play it now but I would never play "object ball off the table is a foul".

Dennis
me neither
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2013, 12:22 PM
jtompilot jtompilot is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 3,740
Default

The reason object ball off the table is not a foul is because most money robbing pool players don't know how to read a rule book
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2013, 12:52 PM
androd's Avatar
androd androd is online now
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Braunfels tx.
Posts: 7,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtompilot View Post
The reason object ball off the table is not a foul is because most money robbing pool players don't know how to read a rule book
That's because they don't play in leagues or tournaments, where all the hackers carry rule books with them.
Many play it's a foul now, as I'm always gambling I play fouls on the CB only.
Rod.
P.S. I know I'm old, but many of the newer rules seem stupid and a recipe for trouble. I.E That ball was gonna come across here and it woulda hit that ob that was touched (maybe).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
foul, jumped ball, one pocket rules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All original content Copyright Onepocket.org and/or the original author. All rights reserved.