Go Back   OnePocket.org Forums > One Pocket Forum
Register FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2019, 05:45 AM
J.R. J.R. is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 289
Default Gambling and the Break as a Spot in One Pocket

I have a question regarding the break in one pocket. I will present the question in its simplest layout. Additionally, there are no written house rules at Red Shoes Billiards regarding the below situation.

Two players are gambling. One of the players is getting each and every break as the spot. The only stipulation is that the player getting the spot must change pockets after each game. Both players agree to the stipulation.

The player getting the spot breaks to the left corner pocket in the first game. The player getting the spot breaks to the left corner pocket in the second game. After the player getting the spot breaks, his opponent states that this game must be restarted because he should have broken to the right corner pocket. The player getting the spot objects. An argument ensues and "you" are asked to make a decision on whether the game has started or whether the game must be re-racked and started again with the player getting the spot breaking to the right corner pocket.

How would you rule? Please provide the reasoning for your ruling.

I will provide additional information regarding the above situation and how I ruled in a few days.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-18-2019, 05:49 AM
BRLongArm BRLongArm is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 650
Default

Illegal break. Rerack. The players agreed the breaker would alternate pockets. This was not done, probably by mistake. Rerack.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2019, 07:51 AM
Mkbtank's Avatar
Mkbtank Mkbtank is online now
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philly Pa
Posts: 5,183
Default Gambling and the Break as a Spot in One Pocket

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRLongArm View Post
Illegal break. Rerack. The players agreed the breaker would alternate pockets. This was not done, probably by mistake. Rerack.


Agreed. Rerack.
__________________
Mitch needs to remember to play the score and that it's better to win than to look like a hero.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2019, 07:56 AM
Dennis "Whitey" Young Dennis "Whitey" Young is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Klamath Falls, Or.
Posts: 1,252
Default

Why make a handicap if neither one of them can remember the very 1st. time it comes up. They sound like old guys! One guy is breaking for the wrong pocket, and the other guy is sleeping through it, come on give me a 'break'!

Ruling; give him two balls on your break, and no balls on his break, keep it simple! Whitey
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2019, 08:57 AM
lll lll is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: vero beach fl
Posts: 14,552
Default

if the guy was a jerk and wouldnt re rack
i would just keep playing with you (now the shooter) thanking him for surrounding your hole with balls and its your shot......
just like if he shoots one in your hole
you keep it and it ends his inning (if he didnt make one in his pocket too )
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-18-2019, 09:15 AM
Dennis "Whitey" Young Dennis "Whitey" Young is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Klamath Falls, Or.
Posts: 1,252
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lll View Post
if the guy was a jerk and wouldnt re rack
i would just keep playing with you (now the shooter) thanking him for surrounding your hole with balls and its your shot......
just like if he shoots one in your hole
you keep it and it ends his inning (if he didnt make one in his pocket too )
Excellent point! For the non-breaker sleep through the break shot, but realized it afterwards, thus like you said, just could of thank him for putting balls by your pocket! Whitey

Last edited by Dennis "Whitey" Young; 03-18-2019 at 10:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2019, 10:16 AM
jrhendy's Avatar
jrhendy jrhendy is online now
Verified Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 4,506
Default

Unless it is hard core ‘You snooze you lose’, it should be a rerack or per Larry’s suggestion, you play the game out going for the correct hole.
__________________
JOHN HENDERSON
Al Romero Cue
Magic Chalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2019, 10:42 AM
El Chapo El Chapo is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis "Whitey" Young View Post
Excellent point! For the non-breaker sleep through the break shot, but realized it afterwards, thus like you said, just could of thank him for putting balls by your pocket! Whitey
I thought for sure that was going to be the question half way through the first post.

So, let me ask it... what happens if the incoming player says tough, that is your hole, you broke for the wrong hole that is your problem, not mine, and proceeds to shoot for the hole the breaker broke for?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-18-2019, 11:23 AM
lll lll is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: vero beach fl
Posts: 14,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lll View Post
if the guy was a jerk and wouldnt re rack
i would just keep playing with you (now the shooter) thanking him for surrounding your hole with balls and its your shot......
just like if he shoots one in your hole
you keep it and it ends his inning (if he didnt make one in his pocket too )
Quote:
Originally Posted by El Chapo View Post
I thought for sure that was going to be the question half way through the first post.

So, let me ask it... what happens if the incoming player says tough, that is your hole, you broke for the wrong hole that is your problem, not mine, and proceeds to shoot for the hole the breaker broke for?
that is what i proposed .
what happens depends on the personality of the breaker.....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-18-2019, 12:04 PM
wincardona wincardona is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dallas Tx.
Posts: 7,264
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J.R. View Post
I have a question regarding the break in one pocket. I will present the question in its simplest layout. Additionally, there are no written house rules at Red Shoes Billiards regarding the below situation.

Two players are gambling. One of the players is getting each and every break as the spot. The only stipulation is that the player getting the spot must change pockets after each game. Both players agree to the stipulation.

The player getting the spot breaks to the left corner pocket in the first game. The player getting the spot breaks to the left corner pocket in the second game. After the player getting the spot breaks, his opponent states that this game must be restarted because he should have broken to the right corner pocket. The player getting the spot objects. An argument ensues and "you" are asked to make a decision on whether the game has started or whether the game must be re-racked and started again with the player getting the spot breaking to the right corner pocket.

How would you rule? Please provide the reasoning for your ruling.

I will provide additional information regarding the above situation and how I ruled in a few days.
This is a sticky situation, technically the breaker should be forced to take the pocket opposite of the pocket he broke to, but that's taking it a bit too far. So what do you do in this situation? It is always good business to clarify before hand if you break toward the same pocket in succession then you keep the pocket you break to. It's up to both players to keep the game manageable and fair to ensure a smooth playing match, with the rule in place that if the breaker breaks for the same pocket twice in succession he keeps the pocket he broke to. This situation has come up thousands of times, particularly after the match has been played for many hours it's just good business to clarify the possible problems that may ensue and play under the revised terms.

What should you do in the above scenario? Flipping a coin for the solution and then clarify the potential problem by making the rule ..you snooze you lose.

Dr. Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All original content Copyright Onepocket.org and/or the original author. All rights reserved.