One pocket pool
One Pocket.org home About onepocket.org Learning the game Hall of fame marketplace a one pocket pool forum
  #1  
Old 01-10-2017, 10:09 PM
Bob Farr Bob Farr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 9
Default One Pocket break shot

On a 7 ft and 8 ft table, where do you hit the rack for the break shot?
Thanks in advance for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2017, 12:35 AM
Jeff sparks Jeff sparks is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,888
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Farr View Post
On a 7 ft and 8 ft table, where do you hit the rack for the break shot?
Thanks in advance for your help.
Try the kick break... Kick across the table just past the side pocket with medium speed high CB no English... Works pretty good on smaller tables...
__________________
You're never lost if you don't know where you're going...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2017, 12:42 AM
u12armresl u12armresl is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 387
Default

You're new here Jeff, (JK) but if you mention side raid breaks, you have to mention me. I seem to be the only advocate and person who plays them in tournaments and matching up.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff sparks View Post
Try the kick break... Kick across the table just past the side pocket with medium speed high CB no English... Works pretty good on smaller tables...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2017, 12:43 AM
u12armresl u12armresl is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 387
Default

The advantage of that break on a 7ft is that you wont ever scratch. Be sure to use 10 balls instead of 15 though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Farr View Post
On a 7 ft and 8 ft table, where do you hit the rack for the break shot?
Thanks in advance for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2017, 01:45 AM
poolisboring poolisboring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by u12armresl View Post
You're new here Jeff, (JK) but if you mention side raid breaks, you have to mention me. I seem to be the only advocate and person who plays them in tournaments and matching up.
a bunch of guys from akron were doing that break--im familiar with it and i like it, but didnt know if its legal or not.......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2017, 01:48 AM
poolisboring poolisboring is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Farr View Post
On a 7 ft and 8 ft table, where do you hit the rack for the break shot?
Thanks in advance for your help.
check out the break i invented for a bar table --breaking a couple inches from the side, hit the 2nd ball full with center ball and fairly soft speed--i came up with this because i wasnt satisfied with the usual op break on a bar table....... works wonders........
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2017, 06:55 AM
lll lll is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poolisboring View Post
a bunch of guys from akron were doing that break--im familiar with it and i like it, but didnt know if its legal or not.......
as long as a ball ANY BALL hits a rail its legal
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2017, 02:36 PM
rnewkirk rnewkirk is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 58
Default Ditto Billy and Mitch

One pocket on anything but 9' or 10' is uncivilized !
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2017, 02:39 PM
Renegade_56 Renegade_56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lll View Post
as long as a ball ANY BALL hits a rail its legal
I believe that one ball OTHER THAN the cue ball must hit a rail.

Cueball only I believe is a foul.

Correct?
__________________
Renegade
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2017, 02:45 PM
lll lll is offline
Verified Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renegade_56 View Post
I believe that one ball OTHER THAN the cue ball must hit a rail.

Cueball only I believe is a foul.

Correct?
no
from the rules
...
2.2 The opening break begins with ball in hand behind the head string. On the break, the cue ball may contact either a cushion or any ball in the rack first, but in either case, after contacting at least one ball, an object ball must be pocketed, or the cue ball or at least one object ball must contact a rail, otherwise it is a one foul penalty. As long as a legal stroke is employed from behind the head string on the break, the incoming player must play the balls where they lie there are no re-racks for a pocket scratch or failure to contact a cushion or pocket a ball on the break.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All original content Copyright Onepocket.org and/or the original author. All rights reserved.