good and bad reputation of players

youngstown

Verified Member
good and bad reputation of players

Reading Freddys book, he seemed to like the shady aspect of the gambling scene. I’ve had some bad experience and some good experiences with some pros, and some I’ve had both types of experiences with. Never had a bad experience with a female professional though, which may be why they are the ones on television the most...

bstroud

Verified Member
Beatle,

I knew all those guys as well and with one exception agree with you.

They deserved the reputation they got.

Times were different then.

Whitey was the worst, but he could play.

Bill S.

jtompilot

Verified Member
From
New Orleans
Reading Freddys book, he seemed to like the shady aspect of the gambling scene. I’ve had some bad experience and some good experiences with some pros, and some I’ve had both types of experiences with. Never had a bad experience with a female professional though, which may be why they are the ones on television the most...

Didn’t Jean Ballukas get kicked off the women’s tour for bad behavior. I can’t remember the details.

jrhendy

Verified Member
From
Placerville, CA
Beatle,

I knew all those guys as well and with one exception agree with you.

They deserved the reputation they got.

Times were different then.

Whitey was the worst, but he could play.

Bill S.

I heard enough of the Whitey stories from different sources to believe they are true, but was around him in 1961 at The Wonder Bowl near Disneyland in So CA and he was pretty funny at times. He and Bud Buhl, a local hustler, would work the bar in the bowl called the Gay Nineties, and come out and play each other with stake horses they dug up in the bar. The act they put on was hilarious while they were dumping to each other.

As far as playing, I watched him get busted by Johnny ‘Cannonball’ Chapman, pump back up and then bust Johnny.

Jimmy B

Verified Member