Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Interesting situation

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Interesting situation

    You have a ball frozen to the rail, and another ball frozen to the ball on the rail. Are both balls considered frozen (dead to that rail), or just the one touching it? I guess this situation came up recently in a pro 9 ball match, and they decided both balls were considered frozen to the rail. I could see this coming up playing 1 pocket, and was wondering what your thoughts were on this!


  • #2
    No way in hell would that 2 be considered frozen to the rail, because it is not touching the rail.
    That rail is 'alive' for the 2, and 'not alive' for the 3. Alive: means the rail can be used to play a legal shot.

    Therefore just tapping the 2 to the rail and leaving the 3 in-between the 2 and cb is the shot, and a legal shot.

    The bare basics of a legal shot: upon contacting your intended ob then either the cb or an ob must contact a rail! Do this simple task and you have a legal shot.

    That was a yuppie call! Good Grief!!! Whitey
    Last edited by Dennis "Whitey" Young; 06-02-2019, 06:52 PM.

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by Dennis "Whitey" Young View Post
      No way in hell would that 2 be considered frozen to the rail, because it is not touching the rail.
      That rail is 'alive' for the 2, and 'not alive' for the 3. Alive: means the rail can be used to play a legal shot.

      Therefore just tapping the 2 to the rail and leaving the 3 in-between the 2 and cb is the shot, and a legal shot.

      The bare basics of a legal shot: upon contacting your intended ob then either the cb or an ob must contact a rail! Do this simple task and you have a legal shot.

      That was a yuppie call! Good Grief!!! Whitey
      A yuppie call?....lol

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by crabbcatjohn View Post
        A yuppie call?....lol
        Yup..............
        Bill Meacham
        WBT
        www.worldbilliardtour.com
        no link....

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by Dennis "Whitey" Young View Post
          No way in hell would that 2 be considered frozen to the rail, because it is not touching the rail.
          That rail is 'alive' for the 2, and 'not alive' for the 3. Alive: means the rail can be used to play a legal shot.

          Therefore just tapping the 2 to the rail and leaving the 3 in-between the 2 and cb is the shot, and a legal shot.

          The bare basics of a legal shot: upon contacting your intended ob then either the cb or an ob must contact a rail! Do this simple task and you have a legal shot.

          That was a yuppie call! Good Grief!!! Whitey
          I can't imagine any opinion other than this one.
          "LOL ... judging by your shot selections you play good" -- Hacker, September 29, 2015.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by Cory in dc View Post
            I can't imagine any opinion other than this one.
            Playing any game.
            Regards,

            Nick B

            Name: Nick Beretanos
            Location: Vancouver BC

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by sheldon View Post
              You have a ball frozen to the rail, and another ball frozen to the ball on the rail. Are both balls considered frozen (dead to that rail), or just the one touching it? I guess this situation came up recently in a pro 9 ball match, and they decided both balls were considered frozen to the rail. I could see this coming up playing 1 pocket, and was wondering what your thoughts were on this!

              What pro player would even believe the two was frozen. The three is contacting the rail period. That's the only ball frozen. Maybe someone was trying to get over. You know how those nine ball players can be lol.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by sheldon View Post
                You have a ball frozen to the rail, and another ball frozen to the ball on the rail. Are both balls considered frozen (dead to that rail), or just the one touching it? I guess this situation came up recently in a pro 9 ball match, and they decided both balls were considered frozen to the rail. I could see this coming up playing 1 pocket, and was wondering what your thoughts were on this!

                Who are THEY?
                Bill Meacham
                WBT
                www.worldbilliardtour.com
                no link....

                Comment


                • #9
                  https://photos.app.goo.gl/nzuCm8L6Z5CnAsAk8
                  The video does not do the shot justice, for the ob does not look angled enough upon the ball frozen to the rail, but it is!

                  I was shocked to see this layout, for this is the exact 'Squeeze Bank' that I discovered back when I was 18, in '69. I just set it up different to be made in the corner pocket for this is OP. 2 in the side, all day! I believe it is set up on a pretty steep angle, but hit it very thin, and I believe it will go!

                  This shot never came up even once during my matches, just one time in practice and I figured it out. But here it is!

                  For those that do not know what I am referring to then go to 'Squeeze Bank' pg. 2 Bank Forum. There is also a slight variation 'great shot' that Steve makes that is video represented.

                  Try this shot in the side, you'll like it! Whitey
                  Last edited by Dennis "Whitey" Young; 06-03-2019, 11:01 AM.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    This question is unbelievable. How can a ball be frozen to the rail if it isn't touching a rail?

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      All I can add is...
                      Some rules did say a ball frozen to a rail , and touching that ball is the same as hitting the rail???

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        That would be the end of announcing a frozen ball . . . .?
                        If it ain't funny, it ain't much.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Originally posted by vapros View Post
                          That would be the end of announcing a frozen ball . . . .?
                          Excuse me, Bill, but do you really have time to comment on these extraneous issues with Cherie fighting for her freedom with only a chocolate donut to sustain her?

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Originally posted by LSJohn View Post
                            Excuse me, Bill, but do you really have time to comment on these extraneous issues with Cherie fighting for her freedom with only a chocolate donut to sustain her?
                            Nah, he's just coming up for air...

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              This just goes to prove that one pocket players are smarter than 9-ball players.

                              Jim Mc

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X