Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need ruling from old schoolers

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #31
    Originally posted by Artie Bodendorfer
    THe inning is tecknicaly over when thier are no more balls on the table.
    This would be a great for everyone voting and seeing witch rule the players like the best. BUt I do not no woh to do that. But it could be fun and interesting. The do it on TV and internet voting. And it would add some interest.

    Comment


    • #32
      Originally posted by NH Steve
      In case any of you are not aware, here on OnePocket.org there is a nice and thorough set of rules which address just about every common thing that comes up in One Pocket -- way more than the BCA rules, which are not very helpful for One Pocket, imho.

      Here they are, and you can scroll down to line 9.2 to see what our rules say about this particular issue. Of course, because One Pocket is an after hours game, when you are gambling, you and your opponent can negotiate your own exceptions to whatever extent you can agree...

      Official One Pocket Rules
      Thanks, I had no idea, and it absolutly defies common sense.
      Rod.

      Rodney Stephens.
      (e-mail) rod.stephens0105@att.net(e-mail) #713-973-0503 is now working

      Comment


      • #33
        Originally posted by androd
        Thanks, I had no idea, and it absolutly defies common sense.
        One reason rules are what they are is to avoid controversy. IMHO, avoiding controversy might even trump common sense
        "One Pocket, it's an epidemic and there ain't no cure."
        -- Strawberry Brooks

        Comment


        • #34
          Originally posted by androd
          Thanks, I had no idea, and it absolutly defies common sense.
          Good rule but if you dont like it you can always change it because we are the people who made the rules and we are the people who brack the rules. Humans have a lot of power. THats why people rule.

          Comment


          • #35
            Inning being over

            Originally posted by Artie Bodendorfer
            THe inning is tecknicaly over when thier are no more balls on the table.
            Artie, the inning isn't over until the shooter wins or misses.

            Comment


            • #36
              Controversy

              Originally posted by NH Steve
              One reason rules are what they are is to avoid controversy. IMHO, avoiding controversy might even trump common sense
              Having a friendly argument isn't so bad Steve. I've seen a lot of different thoughts on this question and that would not have happened if not for this site and the contributors to it. But it would be nice to see some opinions posted from all the other players on this site. The usual suspects have given their opinions, where is everyone else?
              Last edited by Cowboy Dennis; 01-11-2009, 10:19 PM.

              Comment


              • #37
                Originally posted by Artie Bodendorfer
                This would be a great for everyone voting and seeing witch rule the players like the best. BUt I do not no woh to do that. But it could be fun and interesting. The do it on TV and internet voting. And it would add some interest.
                I said technicality to me that means its still your shot but thier are no more balls on the table. And all the balls have to be spotted that are owed to continuie the game. I can not give a better answer than I gave before in a splite descision and if you didnt make up the rul;es before you played or you dont want to go by one pocket . org rules and you both players asked me for a decision. I would give you the best poable decision I could give and that is play the game over and if the two player dont want to go by playing the game over. THen I would tell them to flip a coin what rule the want to go by. And I cant make it any more farer then that. Because If the cant agree then I can not make a decision that will favor either player. And if the dont want to go for that. Then I would tell them call the session of and next time you play make the rule ahead of time.
                And if that doest work then go and see kavorken.

                Comment


                • #38
                  Originally posted by Cowboy Dennis
                  Having a friendly argument isn't so bad Steve. I've seen a lot of different thoughts on this question and that would not have happened if not for this site and the contributors to it. But it would be nice to see some opinions posted from all the other players on this site. The usual suspects have given their opinions, where is everyone else?
                  going back to the original post if in the beginingg of the game player A ran three balls and then played safe ,all 3 balls would be spotted. if he cleans the table all three balls would be spotted. using the same reasoning if in the beginning of the game he ran 3 balls and also pocheted a ball in a neutral pocket then played safe all 4 balls would be spotted at the same time. same thing if he cleared the table pocketed a ball in a neutral pocket along the way all 4 balls would be spotted when there were no more balls to shoot. the players inning is not over to me until he misses scratches or fouls.

                  Comment


                  • #39
                    Game ball

                    Originally posted by Artie Bodendorfer
                    I said technicality to me that means its still your shot but thier are no more balls on the table. And all the balls have to be spotted that are owed to continuie the game. I can not give a better answer than I gave before in a splite descision and if you didnt make up the rul;es before you played or you dont want to go by one pocket . org rules and you both players asked me for a decision. I would give you the best poable decision I could give and that is play the game over and if the two player dont want to go by playing the game over. THen I would tell them to flip a coin what rule the want to go by. And I cant make it any more farer then that. Because If the cant agree then I can not make a decision that will favor either player. And if the dont want to go for that. Then I would tell them call the session of and next time you play make the rule ahead of time.
                    And if that doest work then go and see kavorken.
                    Artie, I agree with most of your opinion. But when you say that all owed balls must now be spotted you need to realize that the ball for the 9-8 is not an owed ball. It is part of the game. We refer to it often as an owed ball, but the fact is that it must be spotted to give the player a method of getting to 9.And a ball owed for a foul should not be paid until the shooter runs 9 or misses. By the way, I did go see Kevorkian once. He asked me for three hit and the pick.
                    Last edited by Cowboy Dennis; 01-12-2009, 09:12 AM.

                    Comment


                    • #40
                      if in the beginning example player A needs to spot 3 for the score but also had 2 fouls and cleared the table you would sot 3 balls when he misses or runs all 3 THEN you would spot the 2 balls owed? i woild have spotted 5 at the same time.but i see your point owed balls are spotted at the END of the inning. so logically i would agree you spot the 3 balls first then the 2 balls.however as i read rule 9.2 all 5 balls would be spotted

                      Comment


                      • #41
                        Owed balls

                        Owed balls are spotted after all of the game balls are pocketed or after a miss. If in your example you mean that Player A is giving up 11-8 and Player B has 7, then Player A runs the 8 balls on the table, then I would say that he puts up 3 for the game. If he pockets these he pays 2 for his fouls and continues shooting till he misses or wins. It's not that complicated. It's just that most of us have never put much thought into it. But that seems to be changing.

                        Comment


                        • #42
                          from the rules on this site . Spotting balls
                          9.1 Balls are to be spotted on the foot spot, or in a direct line below the foot spot, and tightly frozen to other object balls that fall in or interfere with that line. However if the cue ball interferes, the spotted ball is to be placed on that line close to, but not quite frozen to the cue ball. In the event that the line below the foot spot is full and the bottom rail interferes with a spotted ball then balls are to be spotted on the same line, but above the foot spot.

                          9.2 Any penalty balls owed by the shooter, or balls pocketed in a neutral pocket, are to be spotted at the end of the shooter’s inning. However, if a player runs off all the balls on the table without reaching a winning score, then all such balls are spotted immediately (all at once, not one ball at a time), and the shooter continues their inning. At no other time in One Pocket are balls spotted during any shooter’s ongoing inning.

                          9.3 In the event of a handicapped game with the combined winning ball count needed by the two players or teams totals greater than sixteen at the start of the game, then the player going to the longer count must spot the first ball or balls they score, immediately at the end of the first inning in which they score, as necessary to bring the combined winning ball count back down to sixteen, at which point the game continues in standard fashion.

                          Comment


                          • #43
                            Originally posted by Cowboy Dennis
                            Artie, I agree with most of your opinion. But when you say that all owed balls must now be spotted you need to realize that the ball for the 9-8 is not an owed ball. It is part of the game. We refer to it often as an owed ball, but the fact is that it must be spotted to give the player a method of getting to 9.And a ball owed for a foul should not be paid until the shooter runs 9 or misses. By the way, I did go see Kevorkian once. He asked me for three hit and the pick.
                            YOU MUST HAVE WON BECAUSE YOU ARE STILL HER. ANd what I said is that all the balls get spooted if thier are no more balls on the table. All balls get spoted OK. I wouldnt play Kevorkian again. I hed he doesnt make any bad games. And whatever spot he gives he always wins. And I herd he puts his players to sleep. Have a great day.

                            Comment


                            • #44
                              Dr. Jack

                              Artie, you are a classic. I'm laughing my ass off right now. Thanks for the lift. And my comments on this topic are over, just as in the poolroom.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X