Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How common is this?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • How common is this?

    (Dippy vs Alex last night. They're playing rack-your-own.) Dippy makes a ball on the break and looks ready to run (4) and out. Dippy sits down and Alex shoots. Later Alex makes one on the break and turns the table over to Dippy. I guess they had agreed to play this way before the set started.

    How common is this?

  • #2
    Originally posted by 1pocketpro
    (Dippy vs Alex last night. They're playing rack-your-own.) Dippy makes a ball on the break and looks ready to run (4) and out. Dippy sits down and Alex shoots. Later Alex makes one on the break and turns the table over to Dippy. I guess they had agreed to play this way before the set started.

    How common is this?
    First I've heard of it.
    Rod.
    PS, After thinking about it a while I really like the idea. I never try to make one on the break, but they'll go in once and a while. when your opponent going to 5 or 6 it's a big disadvantage for you if they make one.
    Last edited by androd; 01-07-2011, 03:50 PM.
    Rod.

    Rodney Stephens.
    (e-mail) rod.stephens0105@att.net(e-mail) #713-973-0503 is now working

    Comment


    • #3
      Yeah, I saw that too and I was very confused. The commentators said they agreed that neither would shoot after the break, even if they made a ball. I think it's keep either one from running out. Dippy would only need 3 after the break, and could do it. Alex probably isn't going to run 17, but he'll be in a damn good spot to run a lot.

      I think with a spot like that, it's a pretty good agreement. I'll never use it, but I'll probably not forget about it either.
      Blog: Johnny101.com (Pool Blog)

      Comment


      • #4
        what would one call that weight?

        Break & stop?
        Grey Ghost...the one with the most

        Comment


        • #5
          plus they were playing rack your own, so for 20 grand, I'm sure neither one of them wanted someone "accidentally" making the rack increase your chances in making a ball. Specially for Viffer only needing 4.

          I wasn't aware of that rule either, and I saw Alex make one on his break and then Viffer shot... I thought what the hell, but knew they must have made that a rule.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by Greyghost
            what would one call that weight?

            Break & stop?
            Down and out.
            DeeMan

            Comment


            • #7
              it sounds close to the 10ball rule of not winning when its made in the lower corners. Some tables just have a tendency to make the corner ball on the break. Seems to me the same tables let the other corner ball sneak out also...


              g.
              Gerry

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by androd
                First I've heard of it.
                Rod.
                PS, After thinking about it a while I really like the idea. I never try to make one on the break, but they'll go in once and a while. when your opponent going to 5 or 6 it's a big disadvantage for you if they make one.
                Rod,

                I know you're a numbers guy (more than I am) so tell me what you think: Is the "no shooting after the break" rule to Alex's advantage to the same or a lesser/greater degree than the "free foul per game" rule was for Dippy?

                Dennis

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by Cowboy Dennis
                  Rod,

                  I know you're a numbers guy (more than I am) so tell me what you think: Is the "no shooting after the break" rule to Alex's advantage to the same or a lesser/greater degree than the "free foul per game" rule was for Dippy?

                  Dennis
                  I'm not sure if you're tongue in cheek on this, but I think it is different from the scratch question, because getting to shoot again after the break, they could each "get their share" whether it be one or two for Viffer or 5-6 for Alex. But, I'd still say being able to continue would favor Viffer because of the liklihood of what each would get, and how important it would figure towards the end result of the game. i.e, if Viffer got even one or two more balls, he is a long ways home, and one or two seems often likely for him (based on my own Viffer - like level of play (maybe?). Whereas, Alex will probably get more than Viffer would off of a ball made on the break, but would he get 4.5 times what Viffer gets? I don't think so -- its not a wide open table...

                  Just my 2 cents.

                  Or --- ya got me, if you were fishin
                  "One Pocket, it's an epidemic and there ain't no cure."
                  -- Strawberry Brooks

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by NH Steve
                    I'm not sure if you're tongue in cheek on this, but I think it is different from the scratch question, because getting to shoot again after the break, they could each "get their share" whether it be one or two for Viffer or 5-6 for Alex. But, I'd still say being able to continue would favor Viffer because of the liklihood of what each would get, and how important it would figure towards the end result of the game. i.e, if Viffer got even one or two more balls, he is a long ways home, and one or two seems often likely for him (based on my own Viffer - like level of play (maybe?). Whereas, Alex will probably get more than Viffer would off of a ball made on the break, but would he get 4.5 times what Viffer gets? I don't think so -- its not a wide open table...

                    Just my 2 cents.

                    Or --- ya got me, if you were fishin
                    Steve,

                    I wasn't fishing and I think you're close. The thing I'm talking about is just what you said, Dippy being stopped from getting more balls probably helps Alex a little more than the "free foul" helped Dippy. If Dave makes one on the break he's 1/4 of the way home. That's strong enough right there.

                    Dennis

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      If you are playing Pagulayan, you'd better have that rule about breaking and then sitting down. In the 2001 World's tourney, playing Parica, Alex made a ball on the break three straight times and then ran 6, 5 and 8 balls in those three games, before Parica ever got to the table. He won the match 4-3.
                      If it ain't funny, it ain't much.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by vapros
                        If you are playing Pagulayan, you'd better have that rule about breaking and then sitting down. In the 2001 World's tourney, playing Parica, Alex made a ball on the break three straight times and then ran 6, 5 and 8 balls in those three games, before Parica ever got to the table. He won the match 4-3.
                        Just noticed your signature. Don't think I need any Thank you very much.
                        I've seen it go on like this for months.........then get worse!

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X