3 cushion questions

Texas3cushion

I've been playing 3c for about 5-6 years now and still don't know the answers to these questions.

1. Why does 3c use two cue balls?

2. Why is the red ball considered neutral?

3. Why when playing 3 players do some alternate cue balls?

Why do these questions matter? I'll give you my answer or idea about these questions.

1. Why does 3c use two cue balls? A consequence of this rule is that it causes a special type of safety play. i.e. playing the 1 (your cue ball) to the red last. if you had only 1 cue ball and both other balls, the 2 & 3 were red. this would limit SOME safeties. based on ball, not angle.

2. Why is the red ball considered neutral? Maybe just cause it's not a cue ball? but when you want to play 3 players they usually alternate between white, yellow and back to white.

3. Why when playing 3 players do some alternate cue balls? Related to question 2 obviously. but what's the point of this? I was asking some friends who play better than me about this and I never really got a good answer. One could argue that you don't want to bump the red because it's neutral but does that matter if you have to bump your opponent's cue ball and the red anyway?

What makes me think or ask these types of questions? Well, 3c is mostly, NOT ALWAYS an offensive game. especially played at the highest level. And safeties are often played primarily to make the point but in a way to get lucky with a safe if you don't.

If there was 1 cue ball and two red balls this would incentivize even more offensive play. which I like more. and the safety play would be more based on angle rather than ball.

At the end the day I'm not trying to make the game a certain way. but hopefully someone has some answers to these questions.

12squared

Verified Member
From
Fort Collins, CO
I've been playing 3c for about 5-6 years now and still don't know the answers to these questions.

1. Why does 3c use two cue balls?

2. Why is the red ball considered neutral?