2013 Tunica Southern Classic

Alex Pagulayan victorious in Banks; Justin Bergman in One Pocket

  • Top finishers in the Banks division

    1. Alex Pagulayan
    2. Skyler Woodward
    3. Richie Richeson
    4-5. John Brumback & Troy Jones

  • Top finishers in the One Pocket division

    1. Justin Bergman
    2. Francisco Bustamante
    3. Corey Deuel
    4-6. Jonathan Pinegar, Niels Feijen & Mike Dechaine

Alex Pagulayan cruised through the field of 123 players undefeated to claim the 2013 Tunica Southern Classic Banks title. While Pagulayan is a veteran player with numerous major tournament championships to his credit, his finals opponent in the Banks division was a young player just beginning to leave his mark on the pro circuit — Skyler Woodward. Not that everyone was surprised, because Woodward’s 2nd place finish here in a major Banks tournament closely follows his 5th place finish in this years Derby City Classic Banks division. The kid can bank!

Pagulayan advanced to the finals with wins over Tommy Strickland, Robert Melrose, Chip Compton, Robb Saez, LeeVann Corteza, Nikos Ekonomopoulos, Jonathan DeMet, John Brumback and Richie Richeson, all without a loss. Woodward had to also navigate 10 rounds of Banks aficionados on his route to the finals, including a win over perennial Banks champion John Brumback, suffering his only loss at the hands of Efren Reyes.

In the One Pocket division, after losing to Francisco Bustamante in the first of two final matches, Justin Bergman used his buy back to force a second final against Bustamante, and second time was a charm as he defeated Bustamante three games to two for the Tunica Southern Classic One Pocket championship.

Like the Derby City Classic, the Tunica Southern Classic is not true double elimination, but instead offers each player one chance to “buy back” into the next round immediately after their first loss. Bergman did not suffer his first loss until he reached the finals against Bustamante, giving him the opportunity he needed to defeat Bustamante for the title following his buy back.

Corey Deuel finished third, suffering his second loss at the hands of Bergman in the 10th round, while Bustamante advanced to the finals after knocking out Niels Feijen in the 9th round.

Other top finishers include tied for 4th, Jonathan Pinegar, Niels Feijen and Mike Dechaine.

Earlier in the tournament, Bergman had advanced with wins over Daniel McKenney, Lou Figueroa, Jason Chance, Robb Saez, Mark Dimick, David Parker and Francisco Bustamante.