Changing Gears

Rhino

I am new to this wonderful game. I love it. I think about it all the time, even when I am shaving in the morning. This should bring some chuckles to you veterans out there.

While I consider myself an "O.K." shooter--I can run a couple racks of nine-ball on a big diamond, or 4 to 5 racks on a bar-box--I am having trouble with shooting simple shots after banking with pocket speed, spinning, bunting, and thinning quite a few shots in a row. Playing pocket speed on easy shots or playing position by moving into a "higher gear" seems to throw me off. I end up missing a shot that I should never miss, and often sell-out. Then I have this little fear in the back of my mind concerning shots I would normally fire in all night.

Is this normal? Will it go away with more playing time? Do you consciously change gears? Or does it become natural after awhile?

By the way, I love this site.

R

kollegedave

Verified Member
From
St. Louis, MO
Your problem is normal. Join the club. If your pre-shot routine is not that regimented you may want to think about providing yourself with the same process before EVERY shot.

kollegedave

Rhino said:
I am new to this wonderful game. I love it. I think about it all the time, even when I am shaving in the morning. This should bring some chuckles to you veterans out there.

While I consider myself an "O.K." shooter--I can run a couple racks of nine-ball on a big diamond, or 4 to 5 racks on a bar-box--I am having trouble with shooting simple shots after banking with pocket speed, spinning, bunting, and thinning quite a few shots in a row. Playing pocket speed on easy shots or playing position by moving into a "higher gear" seems to throw me off. I end up missing a shot that I should never miss, and often sell-out. Then I have this little fear in the back of my mind concerning shots I would normally fire in all night.