Fiberglass (ok carbon fiber) shafts

treeMan

Verified Member
I've been non-playing for five to six years, and coming back watching matches, seeing big action and one pocket alive and well warms my heart.

But one thing is perplexing to me - what the f*ck happened in five years that every pro/top player out there is playing with a plastic shaft (🤣 ok ok carbon fiber)??

And if I get one will it increase my chances of winning a game at the MOT? /s/s (adding double sarcasms just in case)

Roast me if you will, I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I had to ask.

(* edit to add /s/s)

Last edited:

beltsander bill

Verified Member
Do you have time to adjust to the new amount of squirt.. do you want to spend the time to adjust..carbine fiber is definitely less maintenance than wood.. how do you want to spend your time and money?

sorackem

Well-Known-Member
They get endorsed to use them. Some people really like them though, but others are meh.
The trick with that is just having time and opportunity to find out for yourself.
As with any part of your equipment, try to find what works best for you.

- got to play with a Bobby Hunter cue the other day. Such a nice hit - clearly solid, responsive, almost speaks to you (and I like what I've been using).

I want to give CF a fair try and would be perfectly willing to go that way if it reduced my time over the ball calculations - deflection/swerve, in a natural or confident/responsive way.

Tobermory

Verified Member
From
San Francisco, CA
I've been non-playing for five to six years, and coming back watching matches, seeing big action and one pocket alive and well warms my heart.

But one thing is perplexing to me - what the f*ck happened in five years that every pro/top player out there is playing with a plastic shaft (🤣 ok ok carbon fiber)??

And if I get one will it increase my chances of winning a game at the MOT? /s/s (adding double sarcasms just in case)